I cannot connect my Droid Razr to my PC

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by NetNathan, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    When I plug in my Razr to my pc it is not recognized.
    It is stock and not rooted...yet. I was waiting for Ice Cream Sandwich update.
    Now I have ICS.... so on a path to rooting..... as soon as I can connect it to my PC.

    First question..Where do I get the USB drivers for my phone?

    ..
  2. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
  3. listenman20
    Online

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
  4. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Should I have my Razr plugged in when I install this program?
  5. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    I installed the Motorola Driver manager, then plugged in my phone.
    The odd thing is...my PC does not even acknowledge the Razr is plugged in BUT it does go into charge mode.
    Could I have the wrong cable? I have 2 and tried both with the same results.
  6. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
  7. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Have you successfully passed data on either of these cables with any type of phone/device previously? I read on DF yesterday (I think) that there are "charging" cables that do not have the data wires present and/or connected. The OP had a good tip. He marks the ones that are charging cables so he won't inadvertently use them for data needs. If yours have successfully passed data previously or if they are Moto cables, this is probably not the case.
    1 person likes this.
  8. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Jaye, you are 100% correct... some cables are designed to do both charging and data transfer, some are only designed for charging.
  9. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    I will go by the Verizon store tomorrow and sort them out. They may well be charging cables only.


    Sent from NS1iPad using Tapatalk
  10. dshaw41731
    Offline

    dshaw41731 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is what happen to me i was useing a cable that didn't come with my phone and all it would do is charge it and i got the cord the oem cable and it works fine

    thanks for the info
  11. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Is it the cable with the "Green Stripe" that Verizon sells now as a "DATA cable" or the actual tagged "V-CAST" cable with warranty tag also?

    The green stripe cable did not work for me I had to get the actual MOTO V-Cast cable with tag and warranty tag.

    I actually had to take the "Green Stripe cable (which was labeled "DATA cable" by the way) back to the Verizon store and prove to them it was not USB recognized even on their own computers. They had to take a "Tagged" cable from another new phone to make it work.
Search tags for this page

connect droid razr to computer

,

connect droid razr to pc

,
connect droid to computer
,
connecting droid razr to computer
,
droid razr connect to computer
,
droid razr will not connect to computer
,
how do i connect my droid razr m to computer
,

how do i connect my droid razr to my computer

,
how to connect droid razor to computer
,
how to connect droid razr maxx to computer
,

how to connect droid razr to computer

,

how to connect droid razr to pc

,

how to connect my droid razr to my computer

,
how to connect razr to computer
,
motorola droid razr connect to pc