I can no longer find my .nomedia file

Rr9108

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S3
For about 2 -2.5 years now I've had a .nomedia file (on my samsung s3) and I've been able to move things into it without any issues. Now, however, I cannot locate it. It's extremely frustrating, and also worth mentioning is that at about this same time, I've now noticed the term "emulated" on my phone. As in "emulated" storage on device or storage card. I have no idea what's happened to cause this or how to undo it, I just want to be able to access my files as I am accustomed to.

I'm not tech savvy by any means, and I know I'll never be able to figure this one out on my own.

Help please?

leeshor

Gold Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum

I'm not certain about the emulated question but on the .nomedia file, where was that file. It should have been in a folder. You can always create a new one as it is an empty file anyway,

OP
R

Rr9108

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S3
Hi Leeshor,

When I wanted to move a picture to it, I would to under "files" folder, all files, I would get the picture from gallery, camera or whatever.... hit MOVE, then go back to all files, (I think all this was on the storage card) and hit DCIM and then Pics, (I think) and then the folder would be there. (I'd named the nomedia file) and I would click on it and hit "move here." Et viola!

Now I cannot find the file. it's just not there, and I'm wondering where it went, and all the pics that were in it.

It's making me CRAZY.

leeshor

Gold Member
Reaction score
The .nomedia file is actually intended to keep Gallery from indexing the files in that folder. You have me confused as to the intent. The file can be easily crated and dropped anywhere.

OP
R

Rr9108

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S3