I better fix this before my girlfriend comes to visit if I want to keep her!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by qurtrn10, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    HELP!

    (I'm going to use names to make this easier to explain)

    My girlfriend's name is Natalie. I text and call her so much throughout the day, that instead of going into my lists and scrolling to her name, I wanted to put a shortcut to her on my home page. (I'm sure I'll also get mega bonus points from her when she sees it)

    Herein lies the problem. I touch and hold from the homepage, select 'Shortcuts', then 'Contact' and select her name. The icon that pops up is mixed up - It has her name, and when clicked, her contact info pops up, but my friend Rachel's picture shows up instead of Natalie's! I've tried deleting the contact and re-selecting it. I've tried turning the phone off and then back on, then deleting and re-selecting, but the same thing keeps happening.

    How can I fix this? I searched, but haven't seen this problem pop up yet.

    Thanks,
    William
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you use facebook sync for pictures?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For kicks, I decided to try adding Rachel's contact to see if I'd get my girlfriend's picture there, but it gives me a different incorrect pic for her too. I've tried a number of other friends, and none of them get added with the correct profile pic - it's always some other friend's picture.
     
  4. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do use facebook in my contacts, however if I add the Motorola Widget 'Contact Quick Tasks' and select her the app shows the correct picture. Unfortunately, I don't like the look of that widget, so I wanted to use the contact shortcut. The contact shortcut is the only one that gets it mixed up.

    Thanks!
     
  5. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going into settings>Applications/All tab>Contacts and try wipe the data/cache from there. worth a shot.
     
  6. droidbionic

    droidbionic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    she gonna be pissed
     
  7. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I just tried it, and nothing changes. The funny thing is, it's consistently the same incorrect pic every time.
     
  8. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't go about it that way. I long press, select Shortcuts then select Direct Dial. I then scroll to the person's number (mobile, home, etc) and select the correct one. The image that shows is that in the contacts. If the contacts is wrong, I go to edit the contact info, press the image and find my own image from the gallery for that person. Then when I put on the homescreen as described above, it's correct.
     
  9. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll look into that - I use text messaging way more than actually calling - can I set that up with texting, or is that only for dialing her phone number?
     
  10. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, instead of selecting "Direct Dial" select Direct Message and then search for her mobile number. The first time you try it, it may ask for you to make a selection of which messaging app (if you have more than one), just check the Use as Default box and pick the one you use.
     
  11. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess our phones are a little different, because when I click 'Shortcuts', the only dialer option I have is called 'Dialer' (there's no 'Direct Dialer).

    ARGH!!!
     
  12. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry, all my ROMs have had that option, I just assumed
     
  13. qurtrn10

    qurtrn10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I'm kind of a newbie to this. Is there anyway to know if it's just my phone that mixes this up, or if it's everyone?
     
  14. chkmate

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ouch Town, population you.

    Honestly I would take your friend, not girlfriend, out of every contact you have. Google, facebook, phone, etc. See if it takes her out automatically. Then add her back. I don't have any other suggestion.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2010
  15. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yo dawg... download "Desktop Visualizer" from the market, it is free and awesome. It lets you set widgets of any size on your screen. You can create an 'icon' from a photo of her, make it really big and appealing, and set it to call her when clicked.


    That aught to at least get a button or two undone *wink* *wink*