I am tethering, why does it think I'm in Kansas?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Silastic Armorfiend, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Silastic Armorfiend

    Silastic Armorfiend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    IO
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I rooted, installed 2.1 / buglessbeast, and am using tethering with my Moto Droid. I connected to my macbook, and connected to speedtest.net.

    So, why does speedtest.net think my closest server is in Witchita, Kansas, when I am sitting in downtown Miami, FL? Maybe I am just paranoid, but it seems strange that my closest server is Kansas, when this is supposed to be a wifi connection...
     
  2. Grabraham

    Grabraham Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does speedtest show if you come from the phone itself?
     
  3. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Possibility your cell phone is connecting through Wichita...I wouldn't sweat it.
     
  4. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thats where your IP hails from. Its like that for everyone.
     
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,715
    Likes Received:
    2,385
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,823
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    There's no place like home. :D
     
  6. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been there before, there ain't **** there.
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,715
    Likes Received:
    2,385
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,823
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Friends on your definition of ****, but there ain't **** lots of places...
     
  8. Silastic Armorfiend

    Silastic Armorfiend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    IO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, I guess my "Little bit of knowledge" is a bad thing. It just seems strange that verizon would let their network take the hit by allowing so much data through their network the whole frigging way back to Witchita, when they could jump it OFF their network here in Miami (Home of the 2nd largest tier 1 NAP in the country), and let the internet do all the routing and transport of the packets...
     
  9. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +220
    with the packets going that far, you know they're watching you and determining the bill right now.
     
  10. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    As in, drive and drive and drive and see nothing. :icon_eek:
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sounds like Texas.
     
  12. ibnetman

    ibnetman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tryed dialing #228 option 2?
     
Search tags for this page
i am in texas, why does my computer think it's in scotland
,
posted on facebook and says i'm in a different city
,
why doe s speed test say im in a differnt state
,
why does my cell phone think in in kansas for facebook
,

why does my computer say im in kansas

,
why does my location say i'm in another state on iphone 4s
,
why does my mac think i'm in a different city
,
why does speed test think i'm in a different state
,
why does speedtest think i in kansas
,
whydoesmycomputerthinki'minadifferentstate