I am tethering, why does it think I'm in Kansas?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Silastic Armorfiend, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Silastic Armorfiend
    Offline

    Silastic Armorfiend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IO
    So, I rooted, installed 2.1 / buglessbeast, and am using tethering with my Moto Droid. I connected to my macbook, and connected to speedtest.net.

    So, why does speedtest.net think my closest server is in Witchita, Kansas, when I am sitting in downtown Miami, FL? Maybe I am just paranoid, but it seems strange that my closest server is Kansas, when this is supposed to be a wifi connection...
  2. Grabraham
    Offline

    Grabraham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    what does speedtest show if you come from the phone itself?
  3. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Possibility your cell phone is connecting through Wichita...I wouldn't sweat it.
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats where your IP hails from. Its like that for everyone.
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    There's no place like home. :D
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I've been there before, there ain't **** there.
  7. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Friends on your definition of ****, but there ain't **** lots of places...
  8. Silastic Armorfiend
    Offline

    Silastic Armorfiend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IO
    Guys, I guess my "Little bit of knowledge" is a bad thing. It just seems strange that verizon would let their network take the hit by allowing so much data through their network the whole frigging way back to Witchita, when they could jump it OFF their network here in Miami (Home of the 2nd largest tier 1 NAP in the country), and let the internet do all the routing and transport of the packets...
  9. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    with the packets going that far, you know they're watching you and determining the bill right now.
  10. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    As in, drive and drive and drive and see nothing. :icon_eek:
  11. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like Texas.
  12. ibnetman
    Offline

    ibnetman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tryed dialing #228 option 2?
Search tags for this page
i am in texas, why does my computer think it's in scotland
,
posted on facebook and says i'm in a different city
,
why doe s speed test say im in a differnt state
,
why does by bb10 think im in california
,
why does internet speed test think im in another server
,
why does my cell phone think in in kansas for facebook
,

why does my computer say im in kansas

,
why does my location say i'm in another state on iphone 4s
,
why does my mac think i'm in a different city
,
why does speedtest think i in kansas
,
why is my computer saying i am in a city that i am not in
,
whydoesmycomputerthinki'minadifferentstate