I am now Rooted!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by BigE"s DROID, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. BigE"s DROID
    Offline

    BigE"s DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally got Rooted.... I have 1 thing i cant figure out if there is someone who can help.... Im to the point to where i need to go to Emulator and change from 1b to 2b and cant figure it out.... anyone familiar with this?????
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm not clear on what you are attempting. What process are you using?

    Mike
  3. BigE"s DROID
    Offline

    BigE"s DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i went off the droid review off youtube. i wanted to follow step by step and not sure where i went wrong......
  4. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    You must be talking about sprecovery, is that right?
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I know the team and video unfortunately, I'm not real familiar with their process. If you send me the youtube link I'll take a quick look. Not sure I can resolve but I'm willing to try to help.

    Mike
  6. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
  7. corydunbar
    Offline

    corydunbar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brandon, FL
    no need for a terminal emulator

    you can skip all of these steps Nandroid backup and recovery image swap by installing the DMupdater app from the market. it will install the latest recovery image Recovery-0.99-.3b.img then all you'll have to do is install your new ROM "smokedGlass v5.0.1" cough cough!
  8. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I wouldn't use the updater. If you're having trouble with a simple step like this, you're going to end up encountering more trouble down the road if you just use dmupdater. If you take the time to read the steps I just linked it will not only answer your question, but will answer questions you'll end up having in the future. If you don't I promise you'll be on here asking way more questions later.
  9. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    801
    Totally agree with pyro, I've been learning a lot since I've joined this forum, one thing is for sure, I wouldnt be where I'm at now if it wasn't for reading up on everything. Don't do dmu quite yet, I would learn how to achieve a lot of your endeavors manually first, you will appreciate dmu much more after you know what exactly it's doing for you.
  10. jr313
    Offline

    jr313 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    you can try theunlockr.com they show you how to update a new recovery with terminal emulator...
  11. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    +1

    Use the threads, like those in my sig to learn. While I haven't used dmupdater I do agree it is a simple solution. The manual methods are not as hard as folks make them out to be though.