I, am an idiot.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by nakhleh926, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    so uh, I've been apparently sbfing with 2.3.320, instead of 2.3.340, THIS ENTIRE TIME. I'm surprised I haven't bricked this phone yet, could this be why I keep experiencing issues with specific roms even though those roms are supposed to update you to 2.3.340?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  2. t.crawford714
    Offline

    t.crawford714 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Most likely, at least your not bricked...
  3. Getsome122
    Offline

    Getsome122 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    The rom wont update you to .340.

    You need to be updated up to .340 and the rom is made compatible with that build.

    DX- rooted, strapped, deodexed,OC'd, and themed how I like it...
  4. luigi90210
    Offline

    luigi90210 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there is no 2.3.34 full sbf, but there is a 2.3.34 system only sbf so you have to flash the 2.3.32 full sbf than the 2.3.34 system only to get back to latest stock but 2.3.34 and 2.3.32 are the same thing pretty much, both use the same bootloader, kernel, and baseband
  5. Droidtwo619
    Offline

    Droidtwo619 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    757, VA.
    All i can tell you is put the right sbf. I just got my phone working after one week because i was installing the wrong sbf.
  6. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    lol :(, I guess I misunderstood some instructions a while ago, for some reason I thought they were the same because someone had also said 30.03 and 30.04 were the same bootloader, decided to google it for fun just now and roarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr I feel silleh.

    thank you for clarifying, I guess I need to download that because apparently I'm using the system only sbf from tbh... lol.
    EDIT: from 2.3.320.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. t.crawford714
    Offline

    t.crawford714 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    30.03 and 30.04 are NOT the same, that's for sure...
  8. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    thanks btw didn't wanna seem like I didn't care for a lot of your replies, just on an adventure of using incredibly slow 3g to find the proper sbfs to download.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. luigi90210
    Offline

    luigi90210 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they pretty much are, 30.03 or 30.04 use the same RSA key, kernel, baseband, and everything
    on 30.03 you can load the 2.3.34 system only SBF and on 30.04 you can load the 2.3.32 full sbf without bricking

    please do some research before posting misleading information
  10. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    also, last silly question of the night (assuming my phone doesn't eat itself), if I'm on the system only 2.3.320 right now, in order to be fully up to date I need to first sbf to the FULL 2.3.320 THEN sbf to the system only 2.3.340.
    Correct?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. t.crawford714
    Offline

    t.crawford714 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Sorry, I was fed bad info then....

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  12. Getsome122
    Offline

    Getsome122 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    Wouldn't it almost be easiest to sbf back to .320 like he was and then just take the OTA for. 340 and then reroot and flash his rom?

    DX- rooted, strapped, deodexed,OC'd, and themed how I like it...
  13. Amagine
    Offline

    Amagine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Don't worry.. I jumped both feet into a Liberty ROM with the Froyo LEAK as my base OS...

    Then realized that my nandriod was of that very same leaked OS
    :yeahbaby01:

    and yes the easiest way is to just go 320 and let it OTA.
  14. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    heh >.>. after downloading both sbf files last night which took about two hours, I realized I already had them both. Apparently I was on the full 2.3.320 even though it was named 2.3.320 SYSTEM....anyway, I think I was always afraid to use the 2.3.340 because I'm pretty sure yesterday was the first time, my bootloader still says 30.03, I still have the same issues with some roms, my failometer is off the charts this week. Thanks for all of your input everehbuddeh, much appreciated, now if you'll excuse me...I'm gonna go punch an imaginary baby.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  15. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. Getsome122
    Offline

    Getsome122 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, TN

    Thats what I figured. Seems alot of peopel will go the long hard route all too often when the proper way is also the easiest way.

    Dont over complicate things and life is much easier..

    And as I see from numerous posts around this board there are many people you learn to just ignore their posts cause they dont know what they are talking about...

    Hope the OP got it all worked out.
  17. nakhleh926
    Offline

    nakhleh926 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    No but I definitely am now, thank you very much.

    thanks for hoping!


    EDIT: do you think that .zip will make my bootloader finally say 30.04?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App