I am a stupid D2G N00b, please help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Droid2GlobalN00b, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay well here it goes, hopefully I dont get pwn'd out of the forum.

    I have recently rooted my D2G, everything went fairly well, I was even able to play around with installing a couple ROM's (Fission/Liberty). However after deciding that I didn't care for either as they both had too many bugs to work smoothly on the D2G I simply reverted to the 2.2 OEM OS.

    Now here is where my n00bish stupidity comes in. I was aware of the risk of boot looping and/or bricking the phone, especially when booting with low battery. My D2G for some reason decided it no longer felt the need to hold battery and would only work while plugged in. Needless to say I was booting it, the charger must have sliped out during boot, thus leaving it in a boot loop.

    I am able to access the the screen with the explanation mark and the droid man (that is the correct terminology right? lol) by powering on while holding "X", and then holding the search/magnifying glass button to enter the recovery screen. I "Wipe cache partition" and then "Wipe data/factory reset" and then "Reboot system now".

    This all does absolutely nothing, it simply enters the boot loop again.

    I have searched and tried a few things but nothing is working and im growing incredibly irritated with it, I am debating spiking it like a football in the street if I cant figure it out soon. PLEASE HELP!!

    Sent from my iPhone. (Joking)
  2. Patgt500
    Offline

    Patgt500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would SBF it. There's a few threads around here on SBFing how-too's.
  3. Digital Cha0s
    Offline

    Digital Cha0s New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes sir buddy SBF from TBH is also my suggested commit to you and yes more then enough threads here to get you going on that also make sure you battery has a full charge just to be safe
  4. shda5582
    Offline

    shda5582 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the D2G noobs (I'm one too), I compiled a helpful thread here that should answer your questions, with helpful links.
  5. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    To OP - since you went thru Liberty, the only true way out is to flash official SBF and wipe data and cache afterwards. Follow sticky thread here on where to get SBF and how to perform the flashing.
  6. biknut1
    Offline

    biknut1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, K
    Noobs

    I know this doesn't help anything, but it is good to see that even in your frustration you still have a sense of humor! I really like to iPhone comment- too funny!

    Seriously though, I hope you were/will get your phone back soon.
  7. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the input, I guess the consensus is that I will have to flash it with the SBF from TBH. I have downloaded the SBF file, and I understand that I will have to boot into bootloader mode however when i do so it flashes at me "Battery Low, Cannot Program".

    This makes sense all except that the phone has been plugged in for 24 hours and is currently plugged in while im booting . . Like i said i was having battery issues previous to the boot loop so what do I do now??
  8. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    False alarm, I found an old BP6X battery from my original Droid that has full charge and is allowing bootloader to run.

    It says "Ok to transfer, transfer mode: USB" and I have the SBF files downloaded.

    I have downloaded RSDLite version 4.5.3 because the link for version 4.9 is no longer active?
    It reads my device and I select the SBF file and click Start, it then says "Failed Flashing Process" in the status section.

    I have no idea what to do. Am I doing something wrong?
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  9. kickasz23
    Offline

    kickasz23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you need the most up to date rsd lite, if you want pm your email and i can send you it. hope we can get this working for you. pst even the most seasoned vet is noob at one time
  10. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ironically I was JUST able to find RSDLite 4.9, it will not read my device though . . I have the most current Motorola drivers (4.9). My computer will not even recognize my phone. SO frustrated.
  11. kickasz23
    Offline

    kickasz23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dam that sux i am sure there is a way are you able to get into the bootloader?
  12. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is in bootloader mode. When I plug the device into my computer via USB, the drivers pop up and say they were installed correctly but the Moto icon is not in the tray and neither my computer nor RSDLite is recognizing the device.
  13. Droid2GlobalN00b
    Offline

    Droid2GlobalN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why won't RSDLite recognize my D2G? I have version 4.9 and the most current Motorola drivers. When I turn my phone on while holding the up arrow to enter Bootloader mode, this is the screen that I get, is this what I should be looking at?

    [​IMG]
  14. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have yot rebooted the computer after you updated rsdlite? Try to do so.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  15. Digital Cha0s
    Offline

    Digital Cha0s New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mayyyybeeee?????

    ok umm try running RSD lite as admin maybe? dont know what ver. of windows you have but that might solve your issue and yes that is the bootloader for rsd lite to work, and also the Moto logo in you tray area in windows is called Motohelper.exe make sure you or someoneone haven't disable that service. I know it conflicts with a few things I run on my PC good luck
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
  16. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i had the same problem. look at the second post Droid 2 Global SBF File (2.4.29) Full and RSDLite
    you can start the flash while the phone is on, thats the only way i could get it to work.