I always end up going back to Bugless Beast.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrl9851, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IMO, no other rom can match BB. I've tried almost all of them: SS, smoked glass, ultimate droid, etc. I've even tried the latest ultimate droid (ese27) which is supposed to be the smoothest rom out there, but bugless beast still smokes it. There is just something about BB that keeps it above the rest. I haven't found a rom as smooth/fast as BB.

    Plus BB has OTA updates now. :icon_ banana:
  2. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    I agree. Bb works great for me! I may try the official update when its rooted. It may already be but I haven't been able to pay much attention lately.
  3. ilikefishes
    Offline

    ilikefishes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    I think that the Droid behaves all on its own. There are phones out there that love BB on a Chevy kernal and then others can only run BB on an Adamz kernal. Then there are others that can't even run BB without the FC's. So IMO it is the individuality of the phone you are carrying more so than another's dislike for a developers ROM. I think they are all doing tremendous work and I dry and "DONATE" any time I can. Keep up the good work!
  4. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I used to use BB until I switched to UD and I have not regretted it. I guess it all depends on user preference.
  5. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    I don't see how one Droid is going to inherently behave differently from another running the same kernel/Rom combo.

    User error, failure to follow instructions, an errant app, not wiping, 2.1 launcher, task managers, whatever... I think those are the problems people have.


    To the OP. Totally with you. BB always feels better.
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  6. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Question: Does BB have an official v2.1 ROM yet? I have the older SholesMod ROM that has most of the v2.1 apps but I'm not going to bother changing my ROM until I have the newest version so I don't have to do it again for a while.

    Also, when you say BB is now OTA does that mean if I change my ROM to BB I will get notification that I need to update? Does it does this via the Market or it's own notification system?

    I've been wanting to try out a new ROM since the SholesMod thing seemed to go south but at least I'm rooted now so it's just a case of applying a new mod if I want to try something else.
  7. Yodes
    Offline

    Yodes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Me too, I always would go back to BB, until I found Cyanogen for the Droid. CM on the Droid is the best ROM out there. Period.:icon_ banana:
  8. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    keep your threads i nthe right area please
  9. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have been sticking it out with pete since day 1 also
  10. DroidxRage
    Offline

    DroidxRage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Hardware plays a major role... hence why some people can run up to 1.5GHz, while others can't pull 1GHz on a high voltage kernel.

    Simple things like the amount of silicon on the die of your particular device's wafer can impact a device, and make the difference between running good, and severely instability.


    I do agree though, Pete does great work... I find that I come back to his work as well, but not to take anything away from the other devs... :)
  11. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    You make a good point. I didn't consider that. But I still hold that user error accounts for a lot of the problems people have.


  12. hlt123
    Offline

    hlt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1

    I don't see how each Droid can conceivably have its own "personality" out of the box.
  13. ilikefishes
    Offline

    ilikefishes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Well, we are entitled to our opinions. That is why we live here, but I do think that they are each different. Why did I have to try 4-6 different ROM's and 6-10 kernals once I was rooted before I found a stable operating system on my phone. I did nothing different to get BB .9 working with the 10 slot chevy kernal. But it would not work with SS or another ROM and the other kernals that Pete gave to try were causing me multiple FC's.
  14. grinchy
    Offline

    grinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    Droid phones and computer processors are similar in the fact that some batches run faster than others/cooler....etc...

    I overclock my computer at home from 2.6ghz to 4gh....however it took me buying 4 different batches of cpu's to find one that would go that high w/minimal voltage :)
  15. DroidxRage
    Offline

    DroidxRage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    About differences in hardware... see this article regarding overclocking:
    Overclocking - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Excerpts:
    "While the idea is simple, variation in the electrical and physical characteristics of computing systems complicates the process."

    "Every component has its unique limits with higher clocks and voltage. Two different CPUs may clock completely differently, one being stable with higher clocks at a similar temperature as the other."

    "The extent to which a particular part will overclock is highly variable. Processors from different vendors, production batches, steppings, and individual units will all overclock with varying degrees of success."

    Read this article about wafers for even more information:
    Fun Facts: Silicon and Intel Fabs


    But yes, some degree of problems can certainly be a result of user error. But hardware certainly comes into play. :)
  16. Mercutio
    Offline

    Mercutio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I constantly switch ROMs. IMHO, nothing is as smooth as fast as BB - and it's rock solid stable to boot.