Hulu

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hjc, May 12, 2010.

  1. hjc
    Offline

    hjc New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyonme been able to get HULU to work on Skyfire ? I downloaded the flash player from HULU on skyfire and it still comes up saying to download. ANY HELP?
    What about Dolphin?
  2. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hulu blocks access from skyfire according to skyfire. Not sure why but that seems to be the case.

    No workaround I've heard of. Once we have flash, supposedly next month, it should work. I hope.
  3. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Some had Hulu working on skyfire from what I read. I don't use Skyfire because of their terms of service write-up, but a lot of sites work on it from some testing I did. Dolphin HD is my browser of choice because its so organized and full of features. As far as Hulu, I think we'll have to wait till Flash comes to Android or gets ported. Even then though it may not work because it might be more than just flash on their plate.

    As far as the flash download you speak of, its for PC, not Android. When hulu works, you will hear all about it on this forum the second it happens...
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I thought I had read that the update to skyfire had Hulu working "sort of" as I recall.
  5. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I have read from the folks at Adobe, Hulu still does not work with Android and Flash 10.1. It has to do with the agent string being passed to the site which is how they whack Skyfire users. The only thing that one can hope for is an user agent switcher that tells Hulu the Android browser is IE 8. Otherwise we are at Hulu's mercy.
  6. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure Hulu has a good reason for blocking access but what is it?
  7. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Probably money... Maybe someday soon after flash support well see a Hulu app that costs us our own butts... Just a thought.
  8. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had it working for a while but now when I try, it's not. So they probably made a change recently. Bunch of SOBs. Hopefully the next Skyfire update will take care of it.
  9. welldigger4u
    Offline

    welldigger4u New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had it working also bur skyfire has too many bugs.
    I will stick with dolphin hd and wait. NBC.com is free and also there is free tv.com app for CBS on the market.
    Shows are limited but better than nothing.
  10. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    ive seen talk about hulu debating about charging a subscription fee a while back...
  11. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to Wikipedia:

    On May 24, 2010, Hulu plans to charge $9.95 for premium content identified as "Hulu Plus". For example, the five newest episodes of Glee, Lost and Saturday Night Live would be free, but older episodes would require payment. The premium content would not include cable shows.

    Strange. I would think the newer episodes would cost money. For those asking about why Skyfire was blocked there are at least 2 reasons: 1) there would be no way to stop users from watching content for free even after Hulu becomes a pay service and 2) there was no way to stop people from outside the US from watching the shows. Also from Wikipedia:

    Currently, Hulu's content is only available in the United States with licensing reasons cited. In order to ensure that no international users outside the US have access to the videos, Hulu blocks many anonymous proxies and virtual private networks.
  12. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Odd, their commercails boasted how it was all going to be free.

    Plus I thought people who worked for adobe and had 2.2 running said hulu worked it just took forever to load.
  13. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well with the latest update it seems that hulu is working again somewhat. It wont launch the videos directly but if I search using the explore feature they do play. Can anyone else verify this?
  14. DesktopDevin
    Offline

    DesktopDevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Just tried it I used explore and started to load then just crapped out, I laso noticed that the video button flashed on and off real quickly but then just stayed off.
  15. c_mack9
    Offline

    c_mack9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no they dont. read why they disable hulu on the ps3 browser. its completely retarded.