Huges issues with JR 5.0.9 and custom launcher pro.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by alonsou, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey folks I really need some suggestions here, I'm kind of running out of options :icon_eek:

    Earlier today I installed JR 5.0.9 and needless to say like always, all of JRummy roms are great!, well this wasn't the exception. But I wanted it to try the custom launcher pro that Mike919 posted earlier.

    I will say that I have some quite experience installing roms, but this is really driving me crazy.

    As soon as I finished the installation of the custom launcher I started noticing some kind of lag on my phone something very unusual for a JR rom. So I decided to connect my phone with the USB cable to the computer to get a different launcher, here's where I totally freaked out my pc will not recognize my phone!! I did try using a different cable, a different computer and still no luck, I know is not the actual USb port since my wife's Incredible connects to the pc with no issues at all.

    Just to make everything worst, I can't install anything out of the market. It will download it but it will get stuck on the installing. I can't get rom manager to run a back up, neither titanium b'up. Restore Apps won't work either....

    I had installed different roms (JR 4.0.7,BB4,SS4.2,4.1) and I get the same results with every single one, even doing data and cache wipes between installations.

    So what's next? How can I regain access to the USB connectivity? Any ideas on the market issue?

    Needless to say but for now on, I will stay away from those custom launchers.

    Will I need to reset to factory settings and start all over the rooting process again? I hope not...!!

    I will highly appreciated any help you can provide.

    Thanks
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about restoring a backup? That's what those are for.
     
  3. clairecakes

    clairecakes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The issue started after the Launcher Pro install? Have you tried uninstalling it? What about repairing permissions?

    And if all else fails there's always loading a backup rom.
     
  4. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    lol! I though you were corinacakes! Carry on:)
     
  5. Jmart922

    Jmart922 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried rebooting into recovery mode and going into nandroid and reinstalling a backup? Or just flash another rom using clockwork
     
  6. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay folks, so far I had reinstalled 2 nandroid backups, one as far as 6-30-10 and the issues seem to persist, market apps hanging on the "installing" for hours and nothing its done. I just tried to connect my phone thru USB to a buddy's pc and it will not recognize my phone either. I had delete the Launcher pro data file (update.zip format) out of the SD card and guess what.... nothing, the same issues persist.

    What should I do now?

    So far I've done all the following:

    1) Delete the file out of the SD card
    2) Install several different roms all with wipe data in between
    3) Perfomed 2 nandroid back ups
    4) Repaired permissions

    What else can I do?
     
  7. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it seems like everything I've done so far made everything just worst.

    I rebooted my phone and tried to load CWM to perform another nandroid b'up and my phones it's been on the white Moto logo for well over 5 minutes, do I'm now a proud owner of a bricked phone...?? However bootloader does work.

    Is there anything I can do from bootloader?
     
  8. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    CWM is not working for me, I'll try to flash SPR and come back to CWM one more time.
     
  9. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    CWM working now, flashing BB4 .... I hope this works....
     
  10. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uufff!! I'm glad to post this, the whole issue has been resolved, it was a corrupted SD card. Once I formatted, everything started to work flawless again, good thing that I made a copy of my card just before this whole issue happened. Once again... Droid does..!!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana::clap::yeahbaby01: