Huawei Nexus 6 2015 or LG Nexus 5 2015

Discussion in 'Motorola Nexus 6' started by dgstorm, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    Which one of these phones are you most looking forward to?
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Gotta be the N5.
     
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    4,105
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,388
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6


    NexusSix
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. thunderbolt_nick

    thunderbolt_nick Thunderbolt Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    1,268
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +724
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @nickburress2k2
    I'm not really familiar with either company's phones, so I couldn't really be the judge. I liked the size of my N6 though...but LG makes some really good phones but should I give Huawei a chance...We'll see. I'm going to try and play with some demo models in the store.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    I wonder if Verizon will allow them on their network. It took them forever to get the Nexus 6 on their network.
     
  6. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,882
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,713
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Better late then never.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I am not disagreeing with the comment directly, however I had an N6 shipped to me immediately after release (actually 4 of them), bought from Motorola direct. Opened the box, pulled out the sim tray, put my Verizon sim in, pushed it back in and it was fully active on Verizon that very same minute. I know they weren't "officially" supporting it, but they weren't preventing it either, so it's not really accurate to say they weren't "allow[ing]" them since they did allow those Google and Motorola versions with all radios installed onto their network, or perhaps better said, didn't "prevent" them from access to same.

    No, they weren't offering one for purchase at the Phone Center Stores, but that's as close to not allowing them as they came, afaik.
     
    #7 FoxKat, Aug 28, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  8. Bratster2

    Bratster2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SLO CA
    Ratings:
    +5
    While they did allow active sims to be used in the n6, you could not activate a n6 on their network. Had to use another device first.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Well that's a valid point and clears up the possible confusion. Thanks for that enlightenment.
     
  10. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +318
    I did use the SIM and still use the same SIM from my Note 4 "trimmed in with a nano SIM cutting tool" for my 64 GB white Nexus 6, which was a non Verizon variant. It worked and still works like a charm, it does say Nexus 6 in my Verizon account but non Verizon variant.

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. madmuthertrucker

    madmuthertrucker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tucson, Az
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    The Huawei, because bigger is better. I heard the LG was going to be more affordable while the Huawei is going to be more high end. A Verizon rep told me that they are going to allow any phone on their network, as long as it works on their network.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. cynkrzy

    cynkrzy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    562
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    SLO
    Ratings:
    +635
    Current Phone Model:
    SCHI605
    I'm hoping the N6 is the phone I want to replace my Note II. I'm stuck with Verizon due to coverage where I live and ride, so I want a Nexus.