HTC_IME working fine on Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ei8htohms, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    For anyone spoiled by one of the HTC keyboards often used on the Dream, Sapphire and Hero, the HTC_IME Cyanogen posted on XDA awhile back works fine on the Droid. Just download and install via Astro or similar and enjoy. The resolution is not quite right for the Droid, but I still find it better than the stock Android keyboard.

    Latest HTC_IME.apk for Donut - xda-developers
  2. cizake
    Offline

    cizake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami
    Excellent. I will give it a try. Did you save the apk of stock Kbr just in case?
  3. M1dnite
    Offline

    M1dnite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Walled Lake, MI
    After its installed.. then what? and how could I get the old one back just in case?
  4. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Actually, maybe it's not working 100% fine.

    You can install it without uninstalling the stock keyboard. Just downlload it and select the apk from your downloads folder from Astro. After it installs, just go to settings and enable it and disable the Android keyboard. Then if you ever want the Android keyboard reverse that step (disable/enable).

    The HTC keyboard works great on the screen, but interacts very oddly with the hard keyboard (which I use a lot), so I've disabled it for now. No harm in trying it out if you're curious, but it's not a perfect fit, that's for sure.
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  5. Kevinb84
    Offline

    Kevinb84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good God THANK YOU!!!! I've purchased both "BetterKeyboard" and "EvenBetterKeyboard" and they both are absolutely worthless!

    Thank you again!
  6. sethmo
    Offline

    sethmo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    How do you find that it works odd with the physical keyboard?

    I havent found any issues with the HTC board yet, I like it a lot. Thanks!

    Only real Issue I see is that it needs to be stretched in landscape mode.
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  7. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    it disables the right side alt key for one thing

    I tried posting on this forum with it a little while ago and found a lot of general weirdness with regards to word suggestion also. I had some similar problems using it on the G1, but I guess they were generally less pronounced than what I've seen with the hard keyboard on the Droid so far.

    Anyway, as a pure soft keyboard, it works pretty great.
  8. sethmo
    Offline

    sethmo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    If you have any thoughts on how to stretch the landscape keyboard across the Droids screen, let me know. I made a quick post in that threat on XDA.
  9. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I also has some strange problems with the HTC_IME on my TMobile G1. Sometimes when typing in a google search, everytime I hit the space bar it would insert a .com instead.

    What we really need is the HTC_IME from a phone that HAS a physical keyboard because then it SHOULD (note: should) be able to know when the physical keyboard is open and act accordingly.
  10. Dream
    Offline

    Dream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anybody post a screen shot of this keyboard?
  11. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
  12. elemeno0pee
    Offline

    elemeno0pee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Holy hell... I didn't expect much from this but this keyboard is 5000000x better than anything else. Yeah, it's got a huge gap on the right, but it's STILL better. I can't wait for root access :)
  13. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    HTC_IME:

    [​IMG]
  14. bossmansmith
    Offline

    bossmansmith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does this have multi-touch and does it indeed work on the droid?

    thanks
  15. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    huh?

    Well, the hardware and kernel has multi-touch enabled by default, but I don't think the keyboard specifically allows it exactly. Not sure how or why you'd want proper multi-touch on a keyboard, but it is as responsive as it seems like one might possibly want/need to quick typing so...

    And yes, in case some portion of this thread was unclear, it works on the Droid with the caveats about the resolution and the hard keyboard layout problems.
  16. sethmo
    Offline

    sethmo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    It does not have multitouch. And in portait mode while in a text message, the suggestive text blocks the text window.

    Other then those things mentioned, I really like the layout.
  17. M.J.H.
    Offline

    M.J.H. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why does the HTC keyboard on my Droid look like crap? Resolution looks very poor compared to the pictures. :(
  18. ei8htohms
    Offline

    ei8htohms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    it's not made for this phone

    Those screenshots are from HTC phone with the correct resolution and screen size for the keyboard. It's amazing that it works at all on a Motorola, but you have to suffer with the compromised visuals for now.
  19. Sean6293
    Offline

    Sean6293 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love this keyboard, however i'm a little upset that it doesn't use the predictive text system in a lot of applications (such as the web browser) anyone know why not?