HTC Thunderbolt Spec Descrepencies

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by funkyb, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my first android device so I'm hoping I'm just doing this wrong. I have Elixir installed on my HTC Thunderbolt and am seeing these specs, which disagree significantly from what is advertised:


    Internal Memory: 2.5 GB Free out of 2.6GB Total (Should be closer to 8GB total, right?)

    Ram: 118MB Free out of 597 MB total (shoudl be closer to 768 MB total, right?)

    Camcorder: Resolution 720x480 (Advertised 720p, and in the camera application you can choose capture resolutions up to 1280x720).

    What's all this about?
     
  2. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +103
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Bloatware is eating up a lot of that 8GB onboard. And I'm sure the OS is using up the dedicated 256MB.
     
  3. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not really worried about the amount of "free" ram, what I'm concerned is Elixir says there is only 2.6GB of *total* ram.
     
  4. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    First and i know im being a stickler but you should know the discrepancy between internal sd storage and actual RAM. The 256 MB of RAM that is 'missing' is just the prealocated amount that is used by Android. The rest is for your apps and everything else.

    But the internal SD card only showing 2.6 GB seems to be a big error
     
  5. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3
    try a different systems app..
     
  6. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3
    pls try System Info in Market and report back
     
  7. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, poor use of language on my part. I understand the difference between volatile and nonvolatile storage.

    Agreed, 2.6 total is so far off the mark that either the ram in this thing is bad, the advertised specs are wrong, or elixir is not reporting accurately.

    Any suggestions on how to identify which it is?
     
  8. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try another app as suggested.

    I can promise you they didnt lie about the specs, and however possible....I seriously doubt something is wrong with your phone.
     
  9. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    It appears the system info widget only shows the free internal space (2.49GB) and not the total internal space which is what I am interested in.
     
  10. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with you, but at the same time I'd like to understand what is causing elixir to report 2.6 GB total internal storage. I tried one other application as suggested above, but it appears this one does not report total internal storage (only free). I'm going to hunt around for more.
     
  11. toadzilla
    Offline

    toadzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine shows 2670.79 MB total internal, 597MB of RAM. I can kind of understand the RAM the other 200MB is dedicated to the OS i guess, but where did the other 5 gigs of storage go?
     
  12. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I am glad I am not the only one, but still am lost.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  13. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well what does the OS report in settings>sd card and phone storage?
     
  14. techguru
    Offline

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same. However, the Internal Memory is where installed applications go (unless they are moved to the SD card) so 2.6 gig is actually more than the 2 gig we expected. The 8 gig on the Incredible was extra storage that very few apps could actually take advantage of. You could see it in a file explorer like Astro and the directory was named "emmc". I have not found the equivalent on the Tbolt yet. At this time, this does appear to be a mis-match with the published specs.

    Alan
     
  15. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to agree, but find it impossible to believe the specs were wrong...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
how to increase my htc thunderbolt ram
,
htc thunderbolt boosting ram
,

htc thunderbolt ram

,
htc thunderbolt ram issue
,
htc thunderbolt ram manager
,
htc thunderbolt ram memory
,
htc thunderbolt ram useage
,
htc thunderbolt specifications
,
htc thunderbolt specs
,
upgrade ram on htc thunderbolt