htc Sync and tethering?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by jimmyco2008, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I was thinking about getting the next htc Droid that comes out on Verizon, and I was looking at it's htc Sync on their webiste....... Says you can share internet with it????

    HTC Mobile Phone Support - DROID ERIS by HTC (Verizon) - Downloads

    Given it's on the Droid Eris webpage, htc Sync works with all htc phones.

    So does anyone know what exactly what teh "Mobile Network sharing function" is?????
     
  2. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    ..And more importantly, does Verizon disable this wonderful feature?
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    It's called mobile hotspot or USB tethering and Verizon will charge for or disable it.

    The only workaround would be to root and use either a custom ROM or the tethering app(s) from the Google Code repositories.
     
  4. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    ...So you can't use that unless you pay Verizon for it?
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Unless you root, correct.
     
  6. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks like I WILL need PdaNet after all...... Thank you very much!
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Easy Tether is cheaper if you're going to do the paid version. :)
     
  8. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh? How does connecting to your computer work? Do you have to manually enable the tethering connection on your computer, or can you just plug in your phone and BAM?
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    You install a small application and drivers on your PC just like with PDA Net, turn on debugging on the phone, and then run the app with your USB cable plugged in.

    It's virtually identical except for the app on your phone, basically.
     
  10. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    ..Except PdaNet has a somewhat rediculous txt message app, of which the texts don't even show up on your phone? And is easytether faster than PdaNet? I mean is the tethering speed faster?

    And if I may ask, don't you have to re-root the phone every Android OS update?
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    They're all about the same speed, really.

    You only have to re-root if you're not ROMing or you want to update to get the latest features. However, many people have said that rooting to get the free tethering apps from my signature are worth the price of admission.
     
  12. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    ah. Tempting, but I would rather not risk bricking something I paid $200 for haha....
     
Search tags for this page
easy tether htc sync
,
easytether ford sync
,
ford sync tethering
,
how to tether net using htc synv
,
how to use htc sync tethering
,
htc sync for tethering
,

htc sync tether

,
tether htc thunderbolt to ford sync
,
tethering thunderbolt to ford sync