Htc sense rant

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by stuigi, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. stuigi
    Offline

    stuigi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am a bit peeved that the TB has been in development for months and that upon release we cannot set up an account on the HTC sense web site. Are we forgotten already. I am aware that this phone is already obsolete as far as the planning stages goes for new devices, but I hope we weren't left out to dry
  2. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Their site has been down for awhile now...while I had my Inspire I couldn't log on either.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt using Tapatalk
  3. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read something on a Google search (it may have been Gizmodo or Engadget) that said something like Verizon and HTC weren't on the same page and that HTC phones on Verizon may never get htcsense.com capabilities. It was completely speculation, but may end up being true.

    Personally, I am a corporate user and can do a lot of the same things the htcsense.com site can do, but I realize that the general population would want to use it. I hope the rumor was false and that the TBolt will one day appear on the site and the site works. I have not seen htcsense.com functioning ever, but if someone has, I would be curious to know if it is really a game changer.
  4. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    It was available on the Inspire IE: HTC Likes/HTC Hub & it also came with HTC Book Shelf pre loaded with books to read & you could order more at HTC Hub. The Hub had many extras you could DL. It was really quite awesome. I hope to find a way to get it on the TB.
  5. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Place/transfer this zip file on your sd card, Reboot into recovery (via rom manger or bootloader) choose "install from zip from SD card" in recovery and reboot ... :)
  8. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or you can unzip the file and use root explorer or Astro to install the HTC apk...
  9. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that but it says "Applicaton not installed." There is more than just the APK file, so you would need to know where to put the other files. I hope I can figure this out as I want to try it.
  10. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It won't show up in the app drawer... the other files in that zip are for updater scripts to install this APK in recovery


    from the OP in that thread: "Go to settings, accounts and sync and choose to add an account. Choose htc sense."
    ....
    Scratch that, Astro won't install it correctly ....


    It works if you flash it with recovery, it just did it
  11. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not there. I rebooted the phone and also tried reinstalling, it still tells me it is not installed.
  12. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea I tried that, sorry Astro does not install it correctly for some reason.... It works with flashing it...
  13. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, from the thread of the guy who made the APK:

    I did that and it says it installed, rebooted and checked Accounts & Sync and it still isn't there. I am getting frustrated. :icon_evil:

    Maybe I will wait until I get home...
  14. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How (specifically) do you flash it without root access?
  15. J5684
    Offline

    J5684 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are not rooted then you won't beable to flash... I forgot that the zip/apk needs to be signed to install with Astro .. There should be a app in the market "ZipSigner"
  16. WorldOfJohnboy
    Offline

    WorldOfJohnboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The simple instructions to get this working if you are not Rooted:

    1. Download the Zip file
    2. Extract the MyHTC.APK file from the "system/app" directory in the Zip file.
    3. Copy the APK file to your phone's SD card.
    4. Using ZipSigner, sign the APK file on the SD Card
    5. Run the APK file after Signing it (You can use any file manager... Astro, Adao File Mgr, etc.)
    6. After successful install, go to Settings>Accounts & Sync
    7. Press "Add Account"
    8. Press "HTC Sense" and use your htcsense.com login to set up the Sync.
    I did get a force close on it, but went back in and it is supposedly Syncing. Now just to login to the website and check out the features!
  17. stuigi
    Offline

    stuigi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Before I go through all this trouble, what features will be enabled?
  18. yamaha83
    Offline

    yamaha83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    why are you ranting about not having it if youd ont even know what it does?
  19. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    :clap::icon_ owned:
  20. stuigi
    Offline

    stuigi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know what it's supposed to do, just wanted to make sure that this method of install will do what I was expecting