1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Htc rezound camera wont load

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by mikhailov5, May 22, 2012.

  1. mikhailov5
    Offline

    mikhailov5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having difficulties with my camera. When I click on the camera logo, the camera starts loading but then automatically goes back to the home screen. The camera will not load and I cannot take any pictures. I did a factory reset and it did not solve the problem. Please help.
  2. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Did you flash any of the ics leaks, are you rooted, just need some more information on what has been done to the device beyond just being stock GB.

    IF you try to download another camera app from the playstore does you camera respond when you try to activate it through that app?
  3. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Indee asked the right questions. If we have that information we can help you a lot better.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  4. mikhailov5
    Offline

    mikhailov5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did not flash any ics leaks, no im not rooted. Nothing has been done to this device at all. I bought the phone used and the camera wont seem to load. I downloaded pudding camera from the playstore and when i try opening it, a message comes up and says camera open error. Please help
  5. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    This is a similar error experienced on lots of different devices from many manufacturers.
    A few things you can try:
    -Go into settings>applications>manage applications>go to the camera and force stop it if it's running. Then before you start the camera again hold your index finger over the back camera lens while at the same time hold your thumb over the front camera lens, be sure they are completely covered then start the camera app. Hold the lenses covered for no less than 30 seconds. Does anything happen?

    -If above didn't work, try reopening the camera app and pressing on the display normally over the "switch to front face camera" icon many many times in rapid succession for about 30 seconds or until the front face camera opens up. Does anything happen?

    Let us know if either of these remedies get any response out of your camera before we move on.
  6. sn2hotty
    Offline

    sn2hotty Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    FYI, I was having the same issue with my wife's Rezound. The thumb and index finger trick mentioned above worked. I wish I had seen this thread BEFORE I did a factory reset! LOL Thanks for your help!
  7. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Good to hear!
    If this fixed the issue it's probably temporary and the real issue is the software is having trouble determining who gets precedence between the front & rear camera, when it can't decide who gets to activate first it essentially gets "overloaded" and errors causing the camera not to display....if you were to switch to the front facing camera icon multiple times in a rapid succession you would see the front camera activate since you are giving more "requests" to utilize the front facing camera...not sure how to go about fixing other than sending back to HTC for service or Verizon if you have a warranty...
  8. eclaire426
    Offline

    eclaire426 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I am experiencing the exact same problem, except my phone is a RAZR rather than the rezound. I tried your suggestions and they didn't make any difference. Any other ideas? I'd really appreciate it!
  9. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Sure, first put the camera icon on the home screen then I just need a good description on what happens when you activate your camera from that icon, then after you activate it hit home (not back button) then reopen it again and note what happens, then go into the settings>applications>running services>tap the camera icon in the running services and stop or force stop it then open it again from the home screen icon and note what happens...if you can come back and post that info I can try to narrow it down.
  10. MissP00tie
    Offline

    MissP00tie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I am having the same issue with my HTC Rezound. I click on the camera icon, and it brings up a black screen for a split second, and then goes back to the apps menu. I have tried holding my finger and thumb over the rear and front camera, and unfortunately, that didn't work. I am unable to try the second option, (clicking on the "switch to front facing camera") because my camera doesn't stay open long enough to even click on that option.

    This phone has not been modified in any way. It was purchased brand new at a Verizon store within the last two months. I've also tried to factory reset, and this doesn't help either. Any other suggestions, or should I just take it in to the store?

    Thanks for any help!
  11. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Have you tried the other suggestion indee had? Going into settings and force stop your camera app.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  12. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    If your camera worked for a bit & then suddenly one day it just goes to a black screen then back to the menu there are a couple of possible solutions that come to mind. First off, did you recently download an app that in the permissions for it's use asks to access the camera? That maybe the first place to look but requires a good memory!

    1) Download a third party free camera app from the marketplace.....does the camera respond when you use the new app from the market? (try any of the free camera apps you'd like, just be cautious of suspicious permissions) You can uninstall the app later.

    2) Go to settings>applications>running services>click the camera app and stop it...go to the stock camera app and try it again, if it still force closes and returns to the main screen, go into the gallery app, once there click the upper right corner of the screen on the word "camera"....does it launch you into the camera or does it force close?

    One or both of these tricks will hopefully restore the camera launching function as demanded directly from the camera app icon but if not....

    Most definitely head back into the Verizon store and ask for a replacement...the only reason I'd suggest the tricks be done prior to returning the device is because the Rezound is an out-of-the-box solid device and ethically we should try to fix the issue if we know how or it's something caused by downloading a recent app that had conflicts with the stock camera app; but if that's not reasonably possible then it's time for Verizon & HTC to pony up and give you what you paid for which was a 100% fully functional device. Hope that helps!
  13. eclaire426
    Offline

    eclaire426 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok: after putting the icon on the home screen I opened it and it brought up the camera app (with a black screen rather than an image). I hit home, it brought me to the home screen Nd then reopened the app and it was a black screen with the top bar (time, notifications, etc) being the only thing showing. After about 10 seconds it closed and went to the one screen. When I went to settings to stop the app, it wasn't on the list of running apps for me to stop. When I tried opening it again, my entire screen was black for about 20-30 seconds and then went back to the home screen.
  14. MissP00tie
    Offline

    MissP00tie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Thank you for the help. I tried the suggestions given, and unfortunately none helped. I did try a factory reset one more time just for kicks, and it actually fixed the problem this time. Since the problem is resolved, should I still consider taking it back to Verizon?

    Thanks again!
  15. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Since the problem is fixed and you're past the two week window they would most likely do nothing because it works now. Their go to fix when they can't figure it out is a factory reset so that's all they would have done to it and handed it right back to you anyway. If your phone was a new phone and it's working fine I'd say hold onto it. If you return it there is a good chance that you'll get a refurbished phone instead of a new one. But if your worried that it'll happen again try and exchange it. The worst they can do is say no.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  16. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ok, I still need to know what happened when you tried the tricks from my previous posts in this thread...did you try a 3rd party camera app? If so what were the results, try at least 2 different free camera apps and let me know what occurred, it's the easier to narrow down the issue if it can be replicated across different apps...a factory reset is like walking blindfolded across a busy street-it works for some but not for others...it's better to replicate the issue on demand by narrowing down what isn't the problem so we can treat the problem directly-a factory reset may work but you will never know why it worked or if the problem will come back...
  17. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I agree with LoudRam to a point-if its indeed fixed and you're not experiencing issues then there should be no need, sometimes apps conflict with each other and something as simple as a reset may clear logs/temp data and eliminate the conflict....but make no mistake, 2 week window or not, you got this under a contract and have a warranty which should be at least 1 year, so if you are experiencing the same issue during that year take it back as it's probably not just a glitch at that point...until then enjoy your device!
  18. eclaire426
    Offline

    eclaire426 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried 3 different third party camera apps... The first time I opened each of them after downloading they opened and showed the options for the app along the border, but the space in the center where the image should be to take a picture was black. When I tried to touch an option on the outside or even push the shutter button to take a picture the entire app went black and froze until I hit the home or back screen. When I went into settings to close the app, it wasn't in the list of running apps to close. A day or two later I tried opening again and they didn't open at all.. Just a black screen. I also recently tried to Skype and the video portion wouldn't load (mine or the video image of the other person on my screen); but we did still get the audio working normally. If I tried to turn on the video or change front/ back camera it froze and disconnected. Once it even froze my entire phone and I had to restart it.
  19. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    In my opinion, if it were a software bug like I've seen numerous times in the past it would have been cleared up via one of these methods, unfortunately it sounds to me like the camera hardware is faulty, it sounds like the camera software is trying to do it's job but the hardware is causing an error so that in turn makes the software error-you get the black screen/timeout-& the device returns to a state of use IE home screen or the like...if you're lucky & it's under warranty because you got this on contract you can exchange it but if not simply google some ifixit type repair shops in your area and ask them what it will cost to replace the camera in your Rezound BUT DONT PAY THAT PRICE, just get an idea of what it cost...then go on ebay or another source and buy the camera yourself, then go back to that same shop and ask them how much to fix it & let them know you already have the correct part...it will give you the best chance of paying the lowest price since it now gives you room to discover what their labor costs are....(Oh & don't try to replace the camera yourself unless you are a retired watch maker or beyond incredibly confident that you can do it....read some posts in this forum of DIY Rezound nightmares before attempting a DIY)
  20. Solitary
    Offline

    Solitary New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello;

    Dear I am in trouble, I have HTC wildfire. its camera is not working when I go in camera apps then black screen turns on and just can be back in menu from 'home button' I have reset factory setting I have reset hard factory setting. I have pulled out my battery sim and Sd card and again put but nothing happened, kindly advice me please
Search tags for this page
camera not working htc rezound
,

camera not working on htc rezound

,
camera on htc rezound not working
,
camera wont open on htc rezound
,
htc camera open error
,
htc camera wont open
,
htc rezound camera black screen
,
htc rezound camera fix
,

htc rezound camera not working

,
htc rezound camera stopped working
,

htc rezound camera wont open

,
htc rhyme camera wont open
,
my camera wont work on my htc rezound
,

rezound camera not working

,
why wont my camera work on my htc rezound