"HTC Incredible" Start-up Loop Problem

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by thehagbag, May 31, 2011.

  1. thehagbag

    thehagbag New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    This is my first post, and I'm somewhat of a noob to this, but here goes: I rooted my phone with unrevoked last week, and installed ROM Manager and Cyanogen Mod (latest stable). Everything was working smoothly until yesterday, when I realized that it's been stuck in a non-stop restart loop (continually restarting, showing the "HTC Incredible" logo). I've tried hard booting (POWER + down volume), but every option within that menu starts the loop again. "Recovery" shows the recovery menu, but disappears after ~3 seconds to start the loop again.

    I've tried downloading/flashing the clockwork recovery image (downloading the file for HTC Incredible + renaming to PB31IMG.img + placing on the root of my SD card, which is fat32); this apparently did nothing. I'd be happy to do a factory reset at this point, but this selection doesn't work. Any thoughts/assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

    Hagbag
     
  2. .ohms.

    .ohms. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    which recovery did you use? and you need to rename it PB31IMG not PB31IMG.img. I hope this helps.
     
  3. thehagbag

    thehagbag New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. thehagbag

    thehagbag New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, same issue (removed the "img" extension....when I selected recovery, it flash to the green lettered recovery screen for 2 seconds, and then rebooted). I'd like to know if it's possible to somehow re-install the boot software, because it seems corrupted to me. Any thoughts? Thanks!
     
  5. .ohms.

    .ohms. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    go here Inc. Recoveries | doug piston and grab the 2.5.1.2 version and follow the instructions at the top. Rename it PB31IMG, and flash through hboot. it should automatically recognize it and do its thing. but if it still doesn't work then I would highly suggest you drop Doug Piston a pm here at this site, he is the master!
     
  6. thehagbag

    thehagbag New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the suggested file from Doug's site, and renamed to PB31IMG (no .zip), and placed on the root of my sdcard. I hold power + down_volume, and select the first highlighted option (which is HBOOT, with FASTBOOT highlighted). Here's what it says:

    SD Checking...
    Loading...[PB31DIAG.zip]
    No Image!
    Loading...[PB31DIAG.nbh]
    No image or wrong image!
    Loading...[PB31DIAG.zip]
    No Image!
    Loading...[PB31DIAG.zip]
    No image or wrong image!

    Seems like it wants the .zip extention. Weird. Why would that be? Thanks for your help on this. If all else fails, I'll try to ping Doug.
     
  7. throwaway

    throwaway New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your original problem (the reboot loop, prior to your image flashing hell) sounds a lot like an issue I had with my Incredible overheating during reboot. Leaving the back open and sitting on a fan for a few minutes got me able to boot, do a factory reset, etc.

    When I was flashing, I always left the images with a .zip extension and they loaded, have you given that a try?
     
  8. thehagbag

    thehagbag New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I've tried booting them with/without the .zip. Still can't figure it out, but I'll keep trying.
     
Search tags for this page
.img htc incredible
,
htc incredible locked
,

htc incredible not booting up

,

htc incredible not starting up

,
htc incredible s start up problem
,
htc incredible will not boot up
,

pb31diag

,
pb31diag.zip download
,
pb31diag.zip no image
,
verizon htc droid incredible cdma zip download