1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HTC Edge: First Quad-Core Phone Revealed

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Malvado, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [​IMG]

    Now that dual-core phones are a dime a dozen, what's next? Quad-core phones, like this leaked HTC Edge, if the photos are correct.

    A Nvidia Tegra 3 processor accounts for the 1.5GHz quad-core processing prowess, according to PocketNow. The Edge also supposedly boasts a 4.7-inch display with 720p HD resolution, an 8-megapixel camera with a backlit sensor and 28-millimeter, f/2.2 lens. It's also reputed to have 1GB RAM and measure about 0.4-inch thick. Sound a lot like the freshly announced HTC Rezound? As this rumor pans out, expect the specs to line up with the Rezound (except for the quad-core CPU), including LTE and a bump to an Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. But don't expect to see it until 2012.

    SOURCE: HTC Edge: First Quad-Core Phone Revealed (Images)
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2011
  2. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Wow and by HTC.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  3. screaminz2002
    Offline

    screaminz2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    When is processor speed to much for the rest of the phone and the results become very diminishing? Most people and programs don't even use the full potential of quad cores in there computers right now.
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    half the power of having quad core is simply being able to say you have quad core... right? :icon_eek:
  5. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    yea pretty much. it seems that bumping the cores is what brings in customers.
  6. Sweettooth
    Offline

    Sweettooth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    They really need to do away with the capacitive buttons already. After seeing the on-screen buttons on Honeycomb and ICS devices, the hard (soft?) buttons just seem out of date. Or is it just me?
  7. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I'm with ya. I say so long to the buttons!
  8. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Quad core on phones huh? My laptop is a quad core and there have only been a few times where I've actually needed all of that power (damn you CATIA).
  9. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    A month or so back someone claimed to have a test version of the Nexus and it had hard buttons with the explanation that they were there since the phone had to be tested on GB because ICS wasn't ready yet but they would be removed in the final device. It's entirely possible this could the same case, but doubtful as this seems to be a fairly "official" looking media shot.
  10. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Also, how big would this be with a 4.7" screen AND hard buttons? A lot of people feel that the Nexus can only get away with the 4.65" because it includes the software buttons.
  11. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    eh its to big....or the battery is to small....the colors ugly.....the build is too beefy....to much metal...it weights to much....it have gorilla glass we want lotus....the battery is to big we could never use that much MAH.....the it doesnt have an SD card...it has an SD card but only take 32gb or larger and who can afford that, the pixel density isnt enough, the screen uses to much power, it has an ugly pentile screen, it doesnt use a amoled screen, the screen is to nice, the phone has to much power, 1.5ghz is to high, 1.5ghz isnt enough, quad core is to much, quad core isnt enough, it didnt have 3d camera, the camera isnt good enough, thats an old camera, the camera uses to much battery, it only has 1 led, the speaker is horrible. the speaker is to loud, the speaker isnt loud enough, the phone doesnt have a subwoofer, the phone has a subwoofer and it shakes when i play music

    Right???!!!!!!!! Did i forget anything??
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  12. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma

    I'll take "What is the definition of a Troll Post?" for $300, Alex. :D

    This is why it is good the VZW is finally getting such a healthy inventory of phones... should be something for everyone out there by Christmas or shortly after!
  13. johnomaz
    Online

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    It has more to do with the operating system than the application itself. If Android 4.0 can take advantage of quad core phones/tablets, then it could have the application run on one core and maintain the rest of the OS duties on the other three.
  14. djsiva
    Offline

    djsiva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    True. I've got a quad-core i7 laptop, and I can assure you that I rarely ever have the need to tap into that power.
  15. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    I wanted to be ahead of the group. now noone can say anything that hasnt been said.
  16. Captmilk
    Offline

    Captmilk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    That's a nice looking phone. I'm glad to see the screen size go up (3.7)
  17. jerkwad
    Offline

    jerkwad New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    meh, its elbows are too pointy.
  18. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    on the bright side, if they up the ram to 6GB somehow we can then fully run windows 7 on our phones >_> no need to tether when I want to play an MMO then, just a really small screen :p

    I personally do so much multi-tasking that without quad core (8 thread) processors, I was sucking... I have music and games sometimes movies or multiple websites... it's crazy, with quad core and 8gb or ram I never have to shut anything down. Man I love multi-monitor
  19. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    DANG IT!!!!!:biggrin::hail:
  20. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    that's awesome :D

    I think the hard(soft?) buttons make it kinda ugly. and the silver and black. :D that's just me