1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HOWTO: pseudo bypass screen locked droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by raidzero, Oct 4, 2010.

1. raidzero

raidzero n00b. Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

First, this is only information and I do not recommend you use it for evil. I figured this out because I am a network administrator and handle my company's phones. When a user defects and turns in their phone, it is useful to pull data from it and otherwise scrutinize it. This procedure does not care if USB debugging is on or off.

overview: install custom recovery, root, get data, remove custom recovery, unroot.

So, lets say you have a droid that has a password on it and you need data from it. You have RSD lite & an sprecovery SBF with ADB installed and working and a droid is bone stock, not rooted or modded in any way.

First thing to do is flash MC1's SPR recovery SBF and boot into recovery. Then apply MC1's root update.zip. then using SPR recovery, mount data.

Next thing to do is pull the sqlite database that sets the screen lock parameters:
    Code:
    adb pull /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db .

Will pull to the current directory, then simply open up settings.db using an sqlite program (I use the sqlite managaer firefox extension). Find and delete the lockscreen.password_salt and lockscreen.password_type rows.
    from here all you need to do is push the file back and you will have no more password on the phone and can do what you need with it.