1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How's that update working for you?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by aggiechase37, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    So I kinda would kilter to get some reviews from you guys who have actually applied this update. Specifically would like to know:

    1. Blue tint issue on camera gone?
    2. Homescreen redraws gone/lessened?
    3. Coming back to homescreen from camera smoother?
    4. How much ram does launcher take? Was at 40mb.
    5. How much free ram available at boot? After use?
    6. Spacebar on physical keyboard issue fixed? Mine likes to freak out.

    Thanks in advance guys. Oh, and when giving your review, can you please say if you are rooted or not and if you have frozen apps or not?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On mine the blue tint is gone I have a thread on this forum with pictures with no blue tint. My keyboard has never had issues so I can't say anything there. Cell standby is at 6% so a lot better but my screen is way up to 14% to 27% so don't know what's going there. Im on my first full day so we will see how it goes. I will check in latter

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. Ragnell
    Offline

    Ragnell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    1. Yes completely
    2. Well I'm rooted and have a ton of apps frozen, so I dont have that issue anymore to extremely rare
    3. Yes, taking the picture is also much fast as well.
    4. Which launcher?
    5.I now usually have 150 to 110 MB free of ram
    6. Not sure what issue you're referring too
  4. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I was referring to the stock launcher. I liked the stock launcher but it was too laggy. For me, when I had stock launcher it ate up somewhere between 40 and 45mb of ram. I was curious if that footprint has been lessened.

    Maybe, it's just my phone, but I have issues with the spacebar either not working or sticking. Could be just me though... Maybe I'll get a replacement, probably a hardware issue...
  5. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Im rooted. I used the safe bloatware removal script so yeah.
    1. Tint is gone
    2. I havent had this issue since I edited the build.prop file and changed a few things. Runs sooo much faster
    3. Yes definitely. I even exited camera, went home and back to camera to see if it would freeze and no freeze. Waited barely 2 seconds for it to come up
    4. Not sure.
    5. After boot, Honestly im at 199 MB.
    6. Never had the problem.

    Yesterday, I had my cell phone off the charger for 13 hours and I came back home with 50-60% battery life left. That has never happened and the update did something right.!
  6. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You know what I want in the update? Give me an alarm clock notification bar icon that looks like a clock, or alarming, or something better than a black box...

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  7. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    That is kinda random.
  8. Saik0Shinigami
    Offline

    Saik0Shinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it's random, took me a week to figure out wtf that icon was.

    -Saik0
  9. JohnnyS101
    Offline

    JohnnyS101 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same problem where my space bar doesn't make spaces sometimes or just spasses out, it happens only once in awhile though

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    My fault I meant the box with a check mark as the alarm clock notification icon is random. Not what you mentioned

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  11. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not only goes crazy on my space bar but other buttons as well for me. Pretty much the keys from the right side of my space bar to delete. Very aggravating.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  12. akhi216
    Offline

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This...

    ...especially considering the fact that I bought the phone for the hard keyboard.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  13. ajgates92
    Offline

    ajgates92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Mine has only freaked out twice since I got the phone...I just installed the update and I will see if it does it at all...Ill keep everyone updated.
  14. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Here's all I gotta say about the update.

    View attachment 39870

    Yes that's 50% left after over 12hrs with moderate use. Never been that good.

    LLR00717
  15. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't make out the picture very well, but if you guys are getting that much more battery life I'm gonna have to apply the update.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  16. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Click the picture...
  17. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Don't know why it came out blurry...sorry uploaded from my phone through tapatalk. But yeah battery life is nothing short of stellar after the update.

    LLR00717
  18. mfendley
    Offline

    mfendley New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i thought is was a small square clock with the hours hand at 10 and the minute hand at 2.
  19. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I thought the problem was something to do with the keyboard software. I downloaded and use SwiftKey. I get the spacecraft problem every once in a while and thought it was just me. It never got bad enough though for me to lose root and send back.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  20. tonydelite
    Offline

    tonydelite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    That's exactly what it is. I recognized it instantly. I don't know why so many people have a hard time figuring this out.
Search tags for this page

my space bar is not working on my android