How would you install ROM using a Mac?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by pantherfan2010, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. pantherfan2010

    pantherfan2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone help me try to install a new Rom using a Mac Pro OSX? There doesn't seem to be any instruction, I do have the SDK with pathway correctly installed, so I can see my device. However, there does not seem to be any instruction from here? I may use a UBUNTU live disk if it would make things easier. But am Kind of lost.

    I know this is general question, but whats my next step?
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Honestly you shouldn't need the SDK to install a ROM....you do need it to install SPRecovery though...have you installed that?
     
  3. pantherfan2010

    pantherfan2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to do that now, but the pathways they give are for Windows and mine are a bit different here. I have the droid mounted to my back and just entered the adb command. I downloaded that program. How would I install it to my mac?
     
  4. gentlefury

    gentlefury Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you need to use a mac to do adb its exactly the same as windows except you don't need drivers for the phone and to execute a command file you have to type ./ before the filename since it is unix based.
     
  5. robotkiller

    robotkiller Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Mac and never touched it when uploading my ROM. Not sure what instructions you are looking at. Like the other poster said - Root the phone, load up sprecovery, boot in recovery mode and install the files (using whichever method is used for your specific ROM - ie update.zip or Nandroid backup)
     
  6. joshnichols189

    joshnichols189 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have a mac and never had to touch the terminal on my computer.. I did everything from the terminal on my phone once I was rooted, which I also did mostly from the phone.. I just transferred the files over from my computer because they downloaded faster..

    All I had to do was mount the phone to the computer and the SD card would show up as a drive "NO NAME" and then I just placed files directly onto it (the root), and followed the steps from there.
     
  7. bgrubb7

    bgrubb7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Try this link. I've never used the SDK or ADB for anything.

    I used the instructions from right here to get Rooted and get SPRecovery installed. From there, you just install or restore from SPRecovery.

    Also, try Droid Root Helper from the Market. It's an easy way to install SPRecovery and Busybox. Also Root Explorer (also from the market) is well worth the $1.99 as it will save you alot of time and keep you from having to use the terminal emulator to do most system tasks.
     
  8. pantherfan2010

    pantherfan2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay cool. I'm downloading smoke glass now. It is a .zip file. so I just copy the main file under nandroid then? I don't care about recovery, I have nothing saved.
     
  9. pantherfan2010

    pantherfan2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easy to do. Didn't need to use the terminal. Tried to make life much more difficult.
     
Search tags for this page
android rom on a mac
,
custom rom android mac
,
how to flash android roms on a mac
,
how to flash rom using mac
,
how to install android rom using mac
,
how to install rom with mac
,

how to install roms on mac

,
install custom rom mac
,
install rom mac
,
rom installer android mac