[HOW TO] Wi-Fi Tether on Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by addictedhacks, May 10, 2012.

  1. Rocky

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! Thanks a bunch! :happy3:
     
  2. pgdrives

    pgdrives New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am upgrading from a Droid 3 to a Droid 4 (Thanks, Verizon, for this free upgrade!), and on my Droid 3 I used a method to change the radio channels or something in the phone itself, so that the mobile hotspot would use the same connection as it would if I were using my phone normally. The entitlement change never worked on my Droid 3, and I'm curious if it will actually work on the Droid 4. My phone will be here today sometime, so I will be glad to break it in, root it, and see if I can get wifi tethering. Will update with progress!
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
  3. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    The entitlement check if for 4G phones only. The radiocomm hack works for 3G phones only.
     
  4. pgdrives

    pgdrives New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Loving the phone, didn't have to do the entitlement check though. Rooted, latest version of wifi app, and up and running in under three minutes!
     
  5. bkesm605

    bkesm605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Goshen, Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you so much this worked like a charm and both WiFi Tether and the built in mobile hotspot works!
    :icon_ lala:
     
  6. WawaRulez

    WawaRulez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Dude, you are my HERO!!!!! I searched high and low to find out why SQlite editor was fc'ing after the OTA ICS update on my rooted Razr Maxx to find out nothing. Some peoples worked, others didn't, etc. I had V1.3 running from my rooted Samsung Facinate and it worked on the Maxx until the update. I saved the root, everything went like clockwork, but had an issue with TB and wireless tether (both). I resolved TB but the wireless tether was burning my @ss (especially since I'm grandfathered in on data plan). Your little bit of info just made my day. I rarely if ever use wireless tether, but to be ripped off by Big Red and told "NO data unless you pay" just rubs me the wrong way. I'm on it now!!!!

    Thank you so much!!! :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:

    ps. I screwed them out of a GalaxyIII as well (still new in box) lol
     
  7. Rocky

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just as a note, I was able to Wifi-tether with the free Fox-Fi app before rooting my Droid IV. I wonder if this whole job is an unnecessary step to take...
     
  8. imaskier

    imaskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Foxfi

    Foxfi wifi tether is where its at, make sure to change your ssid/ name of wifi hotspot. Have tried all tethering apps, root apps included. Foxfi's the right choice, besides you don't even need root! I recently upgraded to 4.0.4 latest version as of Aug 1st also rooted. Dhcp problems that were occurring disappeared :)

    As always keep it open people :)
     
  9. lak4

    lak4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you

    I don't know how you figured that out but your directions were perfect. I root just so I can use this tether method because it is so stable. Thanks again.
     
  10. redneckben

    redneckben Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Parrish, Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Works better with the stock tether app and these instructions, thanx
     
  11. kd5pdg

    kd5pdg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe that some of the wifi hotspot teather problems are hardware related.

    Her is my observation: three DRIOD 4 all working fine (I rooted all and set up teather).

    I hacked up my phone and replace it.

    The new DROID 4 would not teather. It would connect and run a short bit and drop. I called support and complained about data service dropping. No questions I was sent a new refurbished phone (I originally bought a refurbished phone).

    The new phone worked like a champ. Same configuration. Simply restored a backup.

    Rooted with foxfi and wifi teather and a cold beer. ;-).
     
  12. 93fuelslut

    93fuelslut Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    lexington sc
    Ratings:
    +1
Search tags for this page
droid 4 hotspot hack
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot not working
,

droid 4 tethering

,

droid 4 tethering hack

,

droid 4 wifi tether

,
how to tether droid 4
,
how to tether my droid 4
,
moto droid 4 wifi tether
,

tethering droid 4