[HOW TO] Wi-Fi Tether on Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by addictedhacks, May 10, 2012.

  1. redneckben
    Offline

    redneckben New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parrish, Florida
    Lmfao! Now everyone is looking at me funny thanx
  2. 93fuelslut
    Offline

    93fuelslut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lexington sc
    What, u never talked to one?...my step dad said If u go to a truck stop u can watch them go from one truck to another..
  3. redneckben
    Offline

    redneckben New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parrish, Florida
    That would be called a lot lizard lol
  4. 93fuelslut
    Offline

    93fuelslut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lexington sc
    Yep, sure is.
  5. lak4
    Offline

    lak4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works on Droid 4 as of 3 hours ago

    Okay! I upgraded to the latest ICS on my Droid 4 courtesy of Verizon! Yay, finally got some ICS love. So first thing I do is re-root and then download wifi-tether and no joy! So I have been playing with it all weekend trying to get it to work. Finally tonight a new wifi-tether beta is was released and works with your instructions. Even though I can set the SSID and turn on encryption, my PC says it is not encrypted. At least I am up an running with some internet access again. Thanks for your work, I wouldn't have gotten anything working without your post! The version of Wifi-Tether I am using is wifi_tether_v3_2-beta1.apk. Happy tethering again!

    Droid 4 - ICS 4.0.4
  6. 93fuelslut
    Offline

    93fuelslut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lexington sc
    What is the point of encryption? And changing ssid?
  7. lak4
    Offline

    lak4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Encryption is good practice and keeps people from seeing your data using tools like wireshark. I change the SSID as a personal preference. You don't have to do either that is up to you.
  8. wkearney99
    Offline

    wkearney99 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    Any updates on this? I've just gotten my d4 upgraded and likewise can't seem to get wifi-tether working on it. In fact, changing the device profile more than a few times actually caused the whole phone to reboot. I was trying to see if any of the other profiles would work and the phone rebooted.
  9. haztv
    Offline

    haztv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't seem to get this to work. I'm on the latest version of cm10 and I get up to the settings.db part. I don't have a settings tab to scroll to line #150 and do the entitlement check. Is this only for ics?
    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  10. wkearney99
    Offline

    wkearney99 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    I picked up the SQL tool, changed the entitlement value, did a full reboot and the built-in app works. Never did get foxfi or wifi tether working. Wifi tether was working with rooted pre-ICS. No idea why it stopped (other than ICS changes) but the SQL hack kind of obviates the need.
  11. snowman
    Offline

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Before I rooted a short while agao
    I just plugged in the cable and turned on wi-fi tether
    the option was not there till you plugged in the cable but it always has worked fine
    no special anything no root or anything required?
    why go thru all thiese steps when it's just in the phone stock?
    actually I checked it with speed test and it uploaded and downloaded at about 25 MBPS steady, I was shocked at the upload speeds on 4G

    not trying to be a smart guy or anything but why all the programs and jazz for something it does stock?
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012
  12. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
  13. snowman
    Offline

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Mine is unlimited and it just free they don't know if the data you download is from tethered or just downloaded?
    it's just x amount of downloaded data now if you say these don't show the amount of data downloaded , thats different
    I tether and it's just data dosen't show on my bill that I tethered? i still don't get it?
    I know there aren't many unlimited plans left
  14. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    they charge u 20 if its on 3g. on 4g fcc said they cant charge ya that 20 so they dont.
  15. snowman
    Offline

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    ok thanks never heard of such a thing thats not good I guess I'm lucky also on 4G
    I appreciate the explanation
  16. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    i cant believe how easy this was and how good it works! thank you:icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
droid 4 hotspot hack
,

droid 4 mobile hotspot

,
droid 4 mobile hotspot not working
,

droid 4 tethering

,

droid 4 tethering hack

,

droid 4 wifi tether

,

how to tether droid 4

,
how to tether my droid 4
,
moto droid 4 wifi tether
,
sql editor to tether wifi
,

tethering droid 4

,
what value do i change to tether wifi