[HOW TO] Wi-Fi Tether on Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by addictedhacks, May 10, 2012.

  1. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    And Verizon will not know/charge if I use this occasionally? I don't want to trigger any flags for them.
     
  2. Wilhelzing317
    Offline

    Wilhelzing317 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just use foxfi. That seems to work for me.
     
  3. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Foxfi won't work for me. It just crashes when I try to run it.
     
  4. Wilhelzing317
    Offline

    Wilhelzing317 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird im on foxfi right now.
     
  5. elektrosoundwave
    Offline

    elektrosoundwave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the stock tether app works. Thanks :)
     
  6. dewhashish
    Offline

    dewhashish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i set the entitlement check to 0, then did the settings in Wifi Tether to bionic and routing fix, but i get a startup error when i use it

    i tested the stock mobile hotspot, but will verizon see if i am using it? i dont plan on using it heavily, i just dont want them to know that i use their stock app and charge me for a tethering plan.

    what im asking is, does the entitlement check to 0 turn off the verizon seeing us use the stock app?
     
  7. uberpwnzorz
    Offline

    uberpwnzorz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. hurleygirlie05
    Offline

    hurleygirlie05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yay!!

    Thank you so much! I actually didn't have to change the line to 0 from 1, to get it to work. I actually did at first and then I realized my backup assistant through VZW is not working so I went back and changed it back, rerooted, and my backup assistant and the app to access my VZW data still is not working. Did anyone else have this problem? If so, how do I fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  9. Sp4rxx
    Offline

    Sp4rxx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth, Northern Hemisphere, North America,
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize in advance for the hijack of the post, but I initially found this post through Google when I was having problems with my RAZR and wifi tethering after upgrading to the OTA of ICS. I want to say upfront that the original poster's instructions worked beautifully. I rooted my RAZR using the Batman Root utility 1.7 for RAZR by Matt and can't be happier.

    My only question is - Does changing the 1 to a 0 ENSURE that VZW won't somehow discover this 'workaround' and start charging the extra $30/month? Or is that what the root access allows for, for SQLite to access that setting and make the 'call home' feature inaccessible to VZW? That charge is bogus IMHO just b/c I only use it for testing wifi connections and when my g/f (who has a 3G-only phone, Droid 3) needs the faster 4G connection every so often - I don't use the ability enough to justify spending the extra money to utilize it.

    Granted, if any type of incremental updates to ICS come down the pike, that setting may be reset again; but initially with root this should not alert VZW, correct?
     
  10. Rocky
    Offline

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! Thanks a bunch! :happy3:
     
  11. pgdrives
    Offline

    pgdrives New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am upgrading from a Droid 3 to a Droid 4 (Thanks, Verizon, for this free upgrade!), and on my Droid 3 I used a method to change the radio channels or something in the phone itself, so that the mobile hotspot would use the same connection as it would if I were using my phone normally. The entitlement change never worked on my Droid 3, and I'm curious if it will actually work on the Droid 4. My phone will be here today sometime, so I will be glad to break it in, root it, and see if I can get wifi tethering. Will update with progress!
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
  12. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    The entitlement check if for 4G phones only. The radiocomm hack works for 3G phones only.
     
  13. pgdrives
    Offline

    pgdrives New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Loving the phone, didn't have to do the entitlement check though. Rooted, latest version of wifi app, and up and running in under three minutes!
     
  14. bkesm605
    Offline

    bkesm605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Goshen, Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you so much this worked like a charm and both WiFi Tether and the built in mobile hotspot works!
    :icon_ lala:
     
  15. WawaRulez
    Offline

    WawaRulez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Dude, you are my HERO!!!!! I searched high and low to find out why SQlite editor was fc'ing after the OTA ICS update on my rooted Razr Maxx to find out nothing. Some peoples worked, others didn't, etc. I had V1.3 running from my rooted Samsung Facinate and it worked on the Maxx until the update. I saved the root, everything went like clockwork, but had an issue with TB and wireless tether (both). I resolved TB but the wireless tether was burning my @ss (especially since I'm grandfathered in on data plan). Your little bit of info just made my day. I rarely if ever use wireless tether, but to be ripped off by Big Red and told "NO data unless you pay" just rubs me the wrong way. I'm on it now!!!!

    Thank you so much!!! :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:

    ps. I screwed them out of a GalaxyIII as well (still new in box) lol
     
Search tags for this page
droid 4 hotspot hack
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot not working
,

droid 4 tethering

,

droid 4 tethering hack

,

droid 4 wifi tether

,
how to tether droid 4
,
how to tether my droid 4
,
moto droid 4 wifi tether
,

tethering droid 4