[HOW TO] Wi-Fi Tether on Droid 4

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by addictedhacks, May 10, 2012.

  1. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wifi tether doesn't work on ICS...yet, foxfi does or the entitlement hack from what I have read.
     
  2. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    If you do the entitlement check, just use the stock WiFi Hotspot app "Mobile Hotspot"
     
  3. crzayalex

    crzayalex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that, but when I start the stock mobile hotspot, it just get stuck at starting. The option to click on it turns grey and it just stays grey unless I reboot the phone
     
  4. kenji91

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    And Verizon will not know/charge if I use this occasionally? I don't want to trigger any flags for them.
     
  5. Wilhelzing317

    Wilhelzing317 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just use foxfi. That seems to work for me.
     
  6. kenji91

    kenji91 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Foxfi won't work for me. It just crashes when I try to run it.
     
  7. Wilhelzing317

    Wilhelzing317 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird im on foxfi right now.
     
  8. elektrosoundwave

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the stock tether app works. Thanks :)
     
  9. dewhashish

    dewhashish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i set the entitlement check to 0, then did the settings in Wifi Tether to bionic and routing fix, but i get a startup error when i use it

    i tested the stock mobile hotspot, but will verizon see if i am using it? i dont plan on using it heavily, i just dont want them to know that i use their stock app and charge me for a tethering plan.

    what im asking is, does the entitlement check to 0 turn off the verizon seeing us use the stock app?
     
  10. uberpwnzorz

    uberpwnzorz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. hurleygirlie05

    hurleygirlie05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yay!!

    Thank you so much! I actually didn't have to change the line to 0 from 1, to get it to work. I actually did at first and then I realized my backup assistant through VZW is not working so I went back and changed it back, rerooted, and my backup assistant and the app to access my VZW data still is not working. Did anyone else have this problem? If so, how do I fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  12. Sp4rxx

    Sp4rxx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth, Northern Hemisphere, North America,
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize in advance for the hijack of the post, but I initially found this post through Google when I was having problems with my RAZR and wifi tethering after upgrading to the OTA of ICS. I want to say upfront that the original poster's instructions worked beautifully. I rooted my RAZR using the Batman Root utility 1.7 for RAZR by Matt and can't be happier.

    My only question is - Does changing the 1 to a 0 ENSURE that VZW won't somehow discover this 'workaround' and start charging the extra $30/month? Or is that what the root access allows for, for SQLite to access that setting and make the 'call home' feature inaccessible to VZW? That charge is bogus IMHO just b/c I only use it for testing wifi connections and when my g/f (who has a 3G-only phone, Droid 3) needs the faster 4G connection every so often - I don't use the ability enough to justify spending the extra money to utilize it.

    Granted, if any type of incremental updates to ICS come down the pike, that setting may be reset again; but initially with root this should not alert VZW, correct?
     
Search tags for this page
droid 4 hotspot hack
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot
,
droid 4 mobile hotspot not working
,

droid 4 tethering

,

droid 4 tethering hack

,

droid 4 wifi tether

,
how to tether droid 4
,
how to tether my droid 4
,
moto droid 4 wifi tether
,

tethering droid 4