1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to use system dump of D3 on D2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by sh1nkiknmidg3t, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. sh1nkiknmidg3t
    Offline

    sh1nkiknmidg3t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Just downloaded the full D3 system dump and i'm not really sure how to use or incorporate it onto my D2.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  2. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Umm I don't thinks its possible...

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't, they both have totally different hardware.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  4. pressguy27
    Offline

    pressguy27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    The only thing you could probably do is use root explore, unzip amd try pulling out different app or whatever else you want and try to put it on your phone

    Sent from my Droid2 using CM7
  5. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    That's what i did. I pulled the boot animation, ringtones and alerts, wallpapers, framework-res. Its all in there :!

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  6. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yea. A system dump doesn't necessarily mean you can easily port it to your droid 2 and make it a droid 3. Internally, they are different devices. So the droid 3 system dump is made for those hardware specs

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. pressguy27
    Offline

    pressguy27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    [/quote]

    Yea. A system dump doesn't necessarily mean you can easily port it to your droid 2 and make it a droid 3. Internally, they are different devices. So the droid 3 system dump is made for those hardware specs

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums[/QUOTE]


    Yeah I understand that. I was meaning more along the lines as sounds, ringtones, ect., maybe some apps

    Sent from my Droid2 using CM7
  8. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where does one get such a thing

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  9. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ooh well in that case you need to simply open up the folder and pull the files you want from it.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    The ringtones and alerts are pretty much (if not exactly) the same as the soundmod zip posted by mobile sensei. Just flash it in cw. I'm using the boot animation now (its nice). Just get it from /media and put it in data/local. If you want any apps, just go to /apps and install whatever you want (unless it has a paired dot odex file)

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  11. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so if it has a paired .odex file then what?
  12. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Not sure. I'm sure there's a way to install those, but i found that they don't install. Nothing special there anyway.

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  13. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you cant just copy and paste then to the d2? and replace your files? so basicly its useless? you cant take any apps? i got the ringtones. mostly same as d2, wallpapers i had from the leak. so what good is all this lol. the boot animation is cool but thats about all i have found useful
  14. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Thats about it, Unless you're a dev looking to tweak or port stuff. What apps did you want? There's nothing special or new there. The only one i found was at the bottom. I forget the name (it starts with a z.) You can install that one no problem, but it's a media share type app, where you can play music and movies from your phone on other devices

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  15. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol idk but I was hoping to get something new and cool

    Sent from my D2 on GB
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Oh no, you're getting geeked out bro. You're turning into a tweaker, a rom geeker. Like me, you'll need rehab

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  17. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol that's great. Yeah its addictive,once you know you can't really screw up too bad lol. I just helped a Guy last nignt like you helped me.

    Sent from my D2 on GB
  18. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    That feels good. Pay it forward brother!

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9
  19. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    found this little jem about .odex files if any one wants to use things from the d3

    [Q] How do I install ODEX files? - xda-developers

    edit.... tried to copy the blurdialer.apk and .odex files as the link says to do and dialer does not work. so be careful of this. i made a backup so im good. but i read a review that the blur contacts and dialer were better on the d3 so thought i would check it out. so good luck keep us posted on what works and what done please
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  20. spaceman
    Offline

    spaceman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried to get the new blurhome2 to work. Didn't really expect it to work. And it didn't work. Oh well

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
droid 2 system dump files
,
how to install system dump android
,

how to use android system dump

,

how to use system dump android

,
how to usea system dump
,

razr d3 system dump

,
razr+d3+system dump
,

system dump razr d3