How To Use ADB: All Commands and Options

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by alquimista, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also at the perm denied issue. I don't think I have seen the resolution yet. Do we have to have rooted the device to use the su command?

    BTW...awesome info...thanks to everyone!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  2. Drukan

    Drukan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phx, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I FOUND THE ANSWER.... (to MY ISSUE)
    You dont type the command from within the "shell". All that ADB SHELL crap is pointless if you're trying to install something such as the Desk Clock, or the new gallery from 2.1 (which is what i was doing)

    To do this simply goto the SDK tools directory
    (ie: C:\AndroidSDK\Tools )

    From here just type in the command.
    (ie C:\AndroidSDK\Tools>adb install C:\Location\Filename.apk

    This will install the apk! and you're done!
     
  3. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have to root to do this?
     
  4. Drukan

    Drukan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phx, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    NOPE!! I just did them not 5 min ago, no root.
    Im still not ready for that leap yet. But to get a few of the 2.1 perks early.. this is very simple!
     
  5. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS DRUKAN!! I too am apprehensive about root. Now to find what I want. :icon_ banana: A
     
  6. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must be doing something wrong. I have root.

    I have tried both ways to install the gallery - adb shell and just as you described in your quote below.

    Both times I get "Gallery.apk does not contain androidmanifest.xml"

    Any thoughts?

     
  7. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind. File I had had an .apk.zip extension. I removed the .zip, as is necessary with some apk's floating around. Well this one was an actual zip, containing the apk.
     
  8. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can't do it......
     
  9. dccrens

    dccrens New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have got the sdk, eclipse, etc installed correctly. I can get into the shell by typing

    "adb shell" at the linux cl.

    But when I type "su" i get permission denied.

    I can still cd to various directories on the phone. However, if I "cd data" and do and "ls", I get "opendir failed, permission denied"...

    Do you have to be rooted to use this? From reading the posts, I thought you didn't.

    Dave
     
  10. Vam.

    Vam. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im trying this on a mac as well.

    I navigate to the tools folder successfully, so that my terminal shows this:

    Vambook-Pro:tools vamsinallamothu$

    But when I attempt to go any further, this occurs:

    Vambook-Pro:tools vamsinallamothu$ adb -s [A0000015B9EE21] shell
    -bash: adb: command not found

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Vam.
     
  11. miamidroid

    miamidroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try putting "./" infront of the command.
     
  12. Ahism

    Ahism New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :D

    okay fellers.
    I am on a PC and I typed this into the command prompt; C:\Useres\Pat>android-sdk-windows/tools
    I then got this in reponse; ' android-sdk-windows' is not reconizable as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

    Help would be nice. I'm trying to get the adb.
     
  13. MarcoTheMagnificent

    MarcoTheMagnificent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay. I'm having some issues and I'd like to see if anyone can help me or direct me to a forum already up to help me. Here's what I've got. I've got the motorola sholes (droid) and I thought I had it rooted. I installed the adb or sdk thing from the android developers website. It is located at C:\Users\Marc\Downloads and then the file has been unzipped so it's just a folder named Android. I'm not looking to change a lot of things or install 2.1. All I really want to do is change the boot animation. I can create my own zip file, so I'm not worried about that portion of it. I also want to change to the transparent notification bar. And possibly enable multitouch on the web browser.....for now. I'm trying to figure out how to do this. I believe I need to get the files off the droid for boot anim. I've gone through cmd and typed in adb shell. That seemed to work. I followed that with Is to view files, and then it said permission denied. I've gone through and rooted it though. I do not understand what's happening. Help? ...please.
     
  14. mackiv

    mackiv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey OP(original poster) I'm not really sure if this is common knowledge, or if it was even already said, but if you take the adb tool and actually drag it onto the cmd prompt(windows) it will run the adb for you(after you hit enter).

    thanx for the tut, I do have sum questions but i'll read thru this forum b4 i ask. thanx again!
     
  15. dmdj232

    dmdj232 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would just like to say THANK YOU!!!
    I have been asking for the last two days for someone to explain how to use ADB and explain it in a way where the "normal" user can understand!
    I followed your directions step by step and was able to understand how to use it
    THANK YOU AGAIN!!!!
     
Search tags for this page
adb command
,

adb commands

,
adb permission denied
,
adb reboot
,
adb reboot bootloader
,
adb reboot recovery
,
adb shell commands
,

how to use adb

,
how to use adb shell
,
using adb