How To Use ADB: All Commands and Options

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by alquimista, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to use forward slashes for navigating your directory structure, backslash is the escape character, you use it before spaces or other special character to make sure they are interpreted correctly.
     
  2. miamidroid

    miamidroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so im new to mac, and im trying to get this to work on my computer.

    This is the command I type
    /Users/martinllanos/Desktop/android-sdk-mac/tools/adb

    that gives me the screen with all the commands

    but when I type a command it tells me command not recognized for example

    Martin:~ martinllanos$ adb -s [0403699b03011021] shell
    -bash: adb: command not found

    I tried a few comands and none of them work
    any help will be appreciated
     
  3. Drukan

    Drukan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phx, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so im getting something completely out there.... DEVICE NOT FOUND error.... any help would be appreciated .. thanx...

    EDIT: Ok so i was missing a driver... that solved...

    Now i too am getting the Permission denied line ...
     
    #15 Drukan, Dec 30, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  4. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also at the perm denied issue. I don't think I have seen the resolution yet. Do we have to have rooted the device to use the su command?

    BTW...awesome info...thanks to everyone!!
     
    #16 bjzwrld, Dec 30, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  5. Drukan

    Drukan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phx, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I FOUND THE ANSWER.... (to MY ISSUE)
    You dont type the command from within the "shell". All that ADB SHELL crap is pointless if you're trying to install something such as the Desk Clock, or the new gallery from 2.1 (which is what i was doing)

    To do this simply goto the SDK tools directory
    (ie: C:\AndroidSDK\Tools )

    From here just type in the command.
    (ie C:\AndroidSDK\Tools>adb install C:\Location\Filename.apk

    This will install the apk! and you're done!

     
  6. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have to root to do this?
     
  7. Drukan

    Drukan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phx, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    NOPE!! I just did them not 5 min ago, no root.
    Im still not ready for that leap yet. But to get a few of the 2.1 perks early.. this is very simple!
     
  8. bjzwrld

    bjzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS DRUKAN!! I too am apprehensive about root. Now to find what I want. :icon_ banana: A
     
  9. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must be doing something wrong. I have root.

    I have tried both ways to install the gallery - adb shell and just as you described in your quote below.

    Both times I get "Gallery.apk does not contain androidmanifest.xml"

    Any thoughts?

     
  10. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind. File I had had an .apk.zip extension. I removed the .zip, as is necessary with some apk's floating around. Well this one was an actual zip, containing the apk.
     
  11. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can't do it......
     
  12. dccrens

    dccrens New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have got the sdk, eclipse, etc installed correctly. I can get into the shell by typing

    "adb shell" at the linux cl.

    But when I type "su" i get permission denied.

    I can still cd to various directories on the phone. However, if I "cd data" and do and "ls", I get "opendir failed, permission denied"...

    Do you have to be rooted to use this? From reading the posts, I thought you didn't.

    Dave
     
Search tags for this page
adb command
,

adb commands

,
adb permission denied
,
adb reboot
,
adb reboot bootloader
,
adb reboot recovery
,
adb shell commands
,

how to use adb

,
how to use adb shell
,
using adb