How To Use ADB: All Commands and Options

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by alquimista, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    I must be doing something wrong. I have root.

    I have tried both ways to install the gallery - adb shell and just as you described in your quote below.

    Both times I get "Gallery.apk does not contain androidmanifest.xml"

    Any thoughts?

  2. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Nevermind. File I had had an .apk.zip extension. I removed the .zip, as is necessary with some apk's floating around. Well this one was an actual zip, containing the apk.
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i can't do it......
  4. dccrens
    Offline

    dccrens New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have got the sdk, eclipse, etc installed correctly. I can get into the shell by typing

    "adb shell" at the linux cl.

    But when I type "su" i get permission denied.

    I can still cd to various directories on the phone. However, if I "cd data" and do and "ls", I get "opendir failed, permission denied"...

    Do you have to be rooted to use this? From reading the posts, I thought you didn't.

    Dave
  5. Vam.
    Offline

    Vam. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im trying this on a mac as well.

    I navigate to the tools folder successfully, so that my terminal shows this:

    Vambook-Pro:tools vamsinallamothu$

    But when I attempt to go any further, this occurs:

    Vambook-Pro:tools vamsinallamothu$ adb -s [A0000015B9EE21] shell
    -bash: adb: command not found

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Vam.
  6. miamidroid
    Offline

    miamidroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try putting "./" infront of the command.
  7. Ahism
    Offline

    Ahism New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :D

    okay fellers.
    I am on a PC and I typed this into the command prompt; C:\Useres\Pat>android-sdk-windows/tools
    I then got this in reponse; ' android-sdk-windows' is not reconizable as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

    Help would be nice. I'm trying to get the adb.
  8. MarcoTheMagnificent
    Offline

    MarcoTheMagnificent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay. I'm having some issues and I'd like to see if anyone can help me or direct me to a forum already up to help me. Here's what I've got. I've got the motorola sholes (droid) and I thought I had it rooted. I installed the adb or sdk thing from the android developers website. It is located at C:\Users\Marc\Downloads and then the file has been unzipped so it's just a folder named Android. I'm not looking to change a lot of things or install 2.1. All I really want to do is change the boot animation. I can create my own zip file, so I'm not worried about that portion of it. I also want to change to the transparent notification bar. And possibly enable multitouch on the web browser.....for now. I'm trying to figure out how to do this. I believe I need to get the files off the droid for boot anim. I've gone through cmd and typed in adb shell. That seemed to work. I followed that with Is to view files, and then it said permission denied. I've gone through and rooted it though. I do not understand what's happening. Help? ...please.
  9. mackiv
    Offline

    mackiv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey OP(original poster) I'm not really sure if this is common knowledge, or if it was even already said, but if you take the adb tool and actually drag it onto the cmd prompt(windows) it will run the adb for you(after you hit enter).

    thanx for the tut, I do have sum questions but i'll read thru this forum b4 i ask. thanx again!
  10. dmdj232
    Offline

    dmdj232 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I would just like to say THANK YOU!!!
    I have been asking for the last two days for someone to explain how to use ADB and explain it in a way where the "normal" user can understand!
    I followed your directions step by step and was able to understand how to use it
    THANK YOU AGAIN!!!!
  11. maximuscr31
    Offline

    maximuscr31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am trying to get this to work on kubuntu 9.10. I am following sholes installation guide and this is apparently the area I am having a problem

    I am entering
    Is this correct? I am new to this side of things in linux. I hate adding a windows partition for such a stupid mistake on my part. Where am I going wrong?

    this is what I get when i try the adb command
  12. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also just get adb command not found. Running Ubuntu 9.10. Why does this have to be so complicated, manually editing .bashrc and crap. Can anyone point me to a tutorial for how to get adb commands working in linux? I have the sdk installed, but what do I do next so I can use commands?

    Any help is appreciated.
  13. B-Unit
    Offline

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    A tip for Windows users, if you find yourself using ADB alot, you can add the directory to your PATH system variable and the commands will run from anywhere in command prompt.
  14. wlscott
    Offline

    wlscott New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been trying to find a way to load apps to my phone that I have downloaded to my laptop. I am deployed to a country that I have no service in, so I can't use the market. I think this ADB may be what I'm needing. I'm trying to get Astro over to my phone now so I can get different apps loaded to it.

    Will I be able to load apps to my phone from my computer with this?
  15. brando56894
    Offline

    brando56894 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I feel that the serial number part should be taken out of the first post since the -s flag isn't needed. I wasted about 10 minutes trying to get it to work when i just tried "adb shell" and it worked perfectly.

    As for finding your currently location pwd works better than using ls or ls -l to find your location, pwd's main function is to show your currentl working directory :D
  16. shocka2430
    Offline

    shocka2430 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes you could use adb to push apps to your phone, but you dont need to if you can connect your usb and choose mount on your phone. which i dont know since you dont have service. but if you can that is a whole lot easier then using the adb method just drag from your laptop onto your sdcard.
  17. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    adb is great -- those that have a problem using it obviously didn't grow up using any type of command line and probably don't use any linux distro on a regular basis. End of rant.
  18. manningfan10
    Offline

    manningfan10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i open adb the window pops up and just closes immediately. HELP!
  19. alfonso777
    Offline

    alfonso777 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I am having this same problem except this is where I am getting stuck. I have my phone hooked up to the USB cable. Any ideas?

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner> cd\
    C:\>Android\android-sdk-windows\tools\adb
    Android Debug Bridge version 1.0.26
    (plus crapload of adb stuff here)
    C:\>Android\android-sdk-windows\tools\adb shell
    error: device not found
  20. RnD_Solo
    Offline

    RnD_Solo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    has anyone been able to find the config file that tells what to start at boot up??? ive been going through directory after directory for the last 45 minutes and i cant find it..

    basically some apps i want to keep, i just dont want them to start when i boot the phone..i want them to boot when i start the app
Search tags for this page
adb command
,

adb commands

,

adb permission denied

,

adb reboot

,
adb reboot bootloader
,

adb reboot recovery

,
adb shell commands
,
how to run adb shell
,

how to use adb

,
how to use adb shell
,
using adb
,
using adb shell