How to upgrade to Liberty Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by slicktrick689, May 16, 2011.

  1. slicktrick689
    Offline

    slicktrick689 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running the first leaked gingerbread build for the D2 and I want to upgrade to Liberty Gingerbread. on jrummy's post it says you have to be on the 4.5.588 build of gingerbread but I thought that was only for the DX. how exactly do I upgrade to Liberty Gingerbread?
  2. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    If you are on the leak for d2 (there is only one i believe, the monster file), then you can flash liberty gb. I'm on a d2 as well and the donate toolbox only has 0.4. So yeah, you should be able to jump right on. I've been debating it myself, but I'm loving liberty 2.0.1 and dont want the potential bugs with liberty gb (beta). Let me know how it goes

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  3. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    Yes there is only 1 link and it is the monster file and if your on that do as Idopa said and get the donated toolbox and install threw there....and right now there only "night lights" beta comes after that night lights are working good enough to go into beta just to make that clear so people aren't confused
  4. Zog
    Offline

    Zog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't have to pay for the toolbox to get it anymore, 0.4 was released to the public here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/li...om-liberty-gingerbread-v0-4-return-eagle.html

    Simply download the zip and flash it using droid 2 bootstrapper.

    I occasionally get a bug where my sound doesn't work without headphones, a simple hot reboot fixes it. That's the only one I've come across, no random reboots or instability.
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  5. Standalone010
    Offline

    Standalone010 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was on .4 for two days, and the only real issue I had was that there was no haptic feedback at all, which really bothered me after a bit so I just flashed back to the Gingerbread leak. It seems fantastic so far, but for some reason, that haptic feedback issue really got to me haha.
  6. Aequitas
    Offline

    Aequitas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    203CT
    hmm i just installed the gb leak and it seems im having the haptic feedback issue and at first had the voice call issue but thats ok now. so i guess i have nothing to loose by flashing liberty again... need something on here cant stand this stupid blur
  7. jayxpx
    Offline

    jayxpx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am currently on Android Version 2.2.1 with Liberty v2.0.1 and was wondering how i would go about getting onto gingerbread and the newest version of liberty. I am assuming i cant just go to nightlies and flash the latest v.4...does anyone have a link on how to flash the right Gingerbread version to my D2 before i put the newest liberty on it?
  8. slicktrick689
    Offline

    slicktrick689 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. jayxpx
    Offline

    jayxpx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    once i install this through clockwork i can go to the liberty toolbox and install the latest v.4 in the nightlies correct? Anything else i should do in between?
  10. SupraRZ95
    Offline

    SupraRZ95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes! Make sure u download the .591 kernal 1st otherwise u might get 3g issues. Flash it first then lgb.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. jayxpx
    Offline

    jayxpx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you have a link to where the .591 kernel is? and how to flash?
  12. slicktrick689
    Offline

    slicktrick689 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the .591 build is only for the DX? on the D2 can't you just flash liberty gingerbread over the original gingerbread leak?
  13. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Yup

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  14. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    yes thats only for dx and you HAVE TO flash the liberated GB over the GB leak for it to work as well
  15. Aequitas
    Offline

    Aequitas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    203CT
    Well I put on Lib GB and its awesome! didnt fix my haptic feedback issue, but im getting used to it.... so much faster than stock with all that garbage. Only other issue i had was when i customized my lib i chose aosp calender and that didnt work so i had to go back and install blur calenedar
    Is there any theme out to get back to the way stock gb looked?
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    So how is it compared to liberty 2.0? Worth the switch?

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
Search tags for this page

update droid x from liberty v2.0.1 to new