How to update to 2.1 (when available) without loosing everything?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mrz123, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. mrz123
    Offline

    mrz123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I, like many of you on here, have done a good amount of messing around with our droids. When the 2.1 update comes out, I want to be able to keep all my personal settings (contacts, apps, screens, etc), but get rid of all the redundancies (2.1 apps I had installed, rooting if necessary, launcher from 2.1, etc.)

    How can this be accomplished, or is a clean install and just reload all apps the best way to get the smoothest running droid?
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You won't lose everything. It'll go just as the 2.0.1 update did. It'll add new functionality, without 'wiping' your device.
  3. mrz123
    Offline

    mrz123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about the 2.1 gallery, launcher, etc that i already have on the phone, won't there be duplicates?
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure, I'm gonna uninstall them before I update to alleviate this issue. Gonna have to set up my Home screens again, but it takes me 2 minutes to do :)
  5. mrz123
    Offline

    mrz123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may do a factory reset so when I do update, it will run ASAP (as smooth as possible).

    Are apps easy to reinstall?
  6. Mars
    Offline

    Mars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about Home++ if i have this installed how will it work for 2.1?
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2.1 has 5 home screens. You might not need Home++ :)
    It should work, provided the developer updates it to be supported on 2.1
  8. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same way you installed them the first time :) So I would say yes.
  9. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Just uninstall the 2.1 Apps that you installed prior to the update.

    Those apps non rooted install did NOT overwrite the 2.0.1 versions, so if you updated first, you would still just uninstall the duplicates;

    You cannot screw this up, because if you do the 2.1 upgrade, then you would end up with two 2.1 gallery's (for ex.), installed in different locations on the phone. Without rooting, you can only pull out the one you installed, not the default that gets upgraded.

    Hope this is clear to all wondering...
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    When you get the update it will come OTA unless someone finds a way to install without rooting. It's just going to update.

    This is not a Blackberry. You don't have to wipe before installing a new OS. Really you didn't need to do that with Blackberry either.
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to 'wipe' a BB, cuz it's poop :) HAHA. I made a funny.
  12. Mars
    Offline

    Mars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just like the power bar at the bottom thats the only thing i would like to keep on 2.1 even if it is not necessary to have home ++ after the update
  13. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone taking bets that someone will screw it up?
  14. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    imo factory reset before you get 2.1... and start from scratch.
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Put me down for $20 someone does :icon_ devil:
  16. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Oh yes. Not only that expect the boards to be hit with all kinds of complaints. People will say their contacts are gone, their apps arn't working. Other people will get paranoid and not want to upgrade. The usual stuff.

    Put me down for $100.00.
  17. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll send both of you my paypal so you can deposit you bets ;) :icon_ banana:
  18. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    My part about screwing this up was referring to leaving the apk installed 2.1 apps (gallery, launcher, clock, music player) on the phone prior to the OTA.

    If you remove them prior, or after, it would not affect the default apps getting upgraded, you would just end up with two of them at the 2.1 level, installed in different areas.

    Of course people will screw up their 2.1 or have complaints ...