1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to Unroot 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by brandegy, May 25, 2010.

  1. brandegy
    Offline

    brandegy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does anyone know how to go back to a non rooted 2.1?
  2. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    This will downgrade your phone to 2.0.1, you'll be prompted to accept the 2.1 software update once you complete the process and are back on an unrooted 2.0.1 rom. This will delete ALL of your information. All your google stuff will resync, but to be safe I would back up all your apps using something like astro file manager.

    Download these files
    A. VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03.sbf (.sbf file)

    Alt download link HERE

    B. RSDLite4.6.msi (RSDLite 4.6)
    C.
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service ... _4.2.0.zip (32-bit Motorola USB Drivers)
    or
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service ... _4.2.0.zip (64-bit Motorola USB Drivers)

    Instructions:
    1. Download all of the necessary files from above
    2. Install RSDLite 4.6 and the appropriate Motorola USB drivers
    3. Connect your phone to the usb port and turn it off. Power the phone back on while holding UP on the DPAD (directional pad).
    4. Run RSD Lite 4.6 -- (You may need to run as administrator if you're using Windows Vista or 7)
    5. Click the ... next to the filename box and browse to where you saved the .sbf file and double click the .sbf file.
    6. Hit start and below it should give you completion progress and all of that.
    7. Once your phone is done being flashed (It may take a while so don't unplug it) it will reboot and you will be back at stock 2.0.1 no root. (As long as the phone boots up you can close the program. It will give you an error message saying you could damage your phone, but as long as it‘s booted you‘re good to go.)
    8. Done


    Let me know if the links are down, I'll post new ones.
  3. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  4. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I also want to get my droid back to factory setting. I tried that tutorial, and everything installed right, but RSDLite can't find my device and thus I can't flash it. Any ideas on how to fix that?

    EDIT: When I run it NOT as administrator, it detects a device, but has N/A for the MEID, Technology, Software Version, and DRM Version sections.
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  5. ClaudioKilgannon
    Offline

    ClaudioKilgannon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using Windows 7? I had that same problem at first too.
  6. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I'm using 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium. I also made sure to install the newest 64-bit driver (4.6) as opposed to the old 4.2 linked above. I did try it with the 4.2 first though.
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  7. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    It's normal fo it to say N/A for MEID, Technology, Software version etc. As long as the first line of the 14 has your device there, then you're good to go.
  8. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it's there, but the start button is still greyed out. Also, the Model line says "SE Flash OMAP3430 MI", I don't know if that matters or not.
  9. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    yeah that's your phone. Did you find the sbf. file using in browse button? It is a small rectangular box with three dots like this ... , that's how you browse to find the sbf
  10. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, selected the sbf file and everything. Start is still grey.
  11. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    You have a screen shot?
  12. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm away from my computer now, posting this on my phone. I'll take one when I get home tomorrow.
  13. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the double post, but I have attached a screenshot.
  14. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I haven't done much with this but the video I watched at droid life, when you click the file, a bunch of information is suppose to pop up in the file properties. I'm guessing thats why the start box is still grey.
  15. ClaudioKilgannon
    Offline

    ClaudioKilgannon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are on Windows 7 and NOT running as an administrator, it will stay grey. You MUST run as administrator or it won't work. Note I'm not yelling, just stressing the important bits ;)
  16. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get that, but my problem is that when I run it as an administrator, it doesn't recognize my phone at all. Like, no devices come up. And the file properties still stays blank.
  17. ClaudioKilgannon
    Offline

    ClaudioKilgannon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, did you download RSD first or the tools from Motorola first? If you installed the tools first you'll have to uninstall everything, even delete it to be safe, then download and install RSD first then the tools. I think. I had the same problems you did when I went back to stock, but that was a while ago and I am no longer stock.
  18. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    To me, it looks like your file extension is wrong for the sbf. Does it say .sbf at the very end of the sbf file? Try moving the sbf to a different location on your computer. Make sure it is not still zipped. Try a different sbf. Do those things and report back.
  19. smguy
    Offline

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so I uninstalled everything and deleted it, then re-downloaded and installed first the RSD then the driver. Now when I run as administrator, the phone comes up. However, no such luck with the sbf. Yes, it does say .sbf at the end. I also tried moving it to a different location (root of C: drive instead of desktop) and re-downloaded it from the link earlier in the thread, but nothing still. I don't know what you mean by making sure it's not still zipped, it was never zipped in the first place.
  20. dgpwner
    Offline

    dgpwner New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing that might or might not work is to disable Windows UAC and that can be found in the Windows Action Center or in msconfig. After I did this I didn't have to run as admin and had no problems flashing my phone.
Search tags for this page
android 2.1 driver download
,
download se flash omap3430 mi
,
s flash omap3430
,

se flash omap3430 mi

,
se lash omap3430 mi
,

unroot android 2.1

,
unroot android 2.1 phone