How to Unroot 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by brandegy, May 25, 2010.

  1. brandegy

    brandegy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know how to go back to a non rooted 2.1?
     
  2. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    This will downgrade your phone to 2.0.1, you'll be prompted to accept the 2.1 software update once you complete the process and are back on an unrooted 2.0.1 rom. This will delete ALL of your information. All your google stuff will resync, but to be safe I would back up all your apps using something like astro file manager.

    Download these files
    A. VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03.sbf (.sbf file)

    Alt download link HERE

    B. RSDLite4.6.msi (RSDLite 4.6)
    C.
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service ... _4.2.0.zip (32-bit Motorola USB Drivers)
    or
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service ... _4.2.0.zip (64-bit Motorola USB Drivers)

    Instructions:
    1. Download all of the necessary files from above
    2. Install RSDLite 4.6 and the appropriate Motorola USB drivers
    3. Connect your phone to the usb port and turn it off. Power the phone back on while holding UP on the DPAD (directional pad).
    4. Run RSD Lite 4.6 -- (You may need to run as administrator if you're using Windows Vista or 7)
    5. Click the ... next to the filename box and browse to where you saved the .sbf file and double click the .sbf file.
    6. Hit start and below it should give you completion progress and all of that.
    7. Once your phone is done being flashed (It may take a while so don't unplug it) it will reboot and you will be back at stock 2.0.1 no root. (As long as the phone boots up you can close the program. It will give you an error message saying you could damage your phone, but as long as it‘s booted you‘re good to go.)
    8. Done


    Let me know if the links are down, I'll post new ones.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  4. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I also want to get my droid back to factory setting. I tried that tutorial, and everything installed right, but RSDLite can't find my device and thus I can't flash it. Any ideas on how to fix that?

    EDIT: When I run it NOT as administrator, it detects a device, but has N/A for the MEID, Technology, Software Version, and DRM Version sections.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  5. ClaudioKilgannon

    ClaudioKilgannon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using Windows 7? I had that same problem at first too.
     
  6. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I'm using 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium. I also made sure to install the newest 64-bit driver (4.6) as opposed to the old 4.2 linked above. I did try it with the 4.2 first though.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  7. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's normal fo it to say N/A for MEID, Technology, Software version etc. As long as the first line of the 14 has your device there, then you're good to go.
     
  8. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it's there, but the start button is still greyed out. Also, the Model line says "SE Flash OMAP3430 MI", I don't know if that matters or not.
     
  9. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah that's your phone. Did you find the sbf. file using in browse button? It is a small rectangular box with three dots like this ... , that's how you browse to find the sbf
     
  10. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, selected the sbf file and everything. Start is still grey.
     
  11. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have a screen shot?
     
  12. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm away from my computer now, posting this on my phone. I'll take one when I get home tomorrow.
     
  13. smguy

    smguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the double post, but I have attached a screenshot.
     
  14. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't done much with this but the video I watched at droid life, when you click the file, a bunch of information is suppose to pop up in the file properties. I'm guessing thats why the start box is still grey.
     
  15. ClaudioKilgannon

    ClaudioKilgannon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are on Windows 7 and NOT running as an administrator, it will stay grey. You MUST run as administrator or it won't work. Note I'm not yelling, just stressing the important bits ;)
     
Search tags for this page
android 2.1 driver download
,
download se flash omap3430 mi
,
s flash omap3430
,

se flash omap3430 mi

,
se lash omap3430 mi
,

unroot android 2.1

,
unroot android 2.1 phone