[How To] Unlock Bootloader & Root Galaxy Nexus

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by sbenson, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. jleeusa

    jleeusa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    When the folder was unzipped and moved to root if c: make sure it's not still in a folder, buy fully unzipped to root. The path is screwy.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  2. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    np,
    after 6 hours of trying to get the drivers working right the other day i found alot of information lol

    hope that fixes the problem :)
     
  3. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,666
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    When they type cd root, they get to the c:\root> prompt. So I think they have that part right.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
  4. jleeusa

    jleeusa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what was happening to me. You can change directories to root but that does not mean the folder is unzipped correctly. It's worth checking out. Just explore the hard drive.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,666
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    OK. I removed that folder from my c drive & couldn't get back to it when I typed cd root. So I was thinking they had it right. Since there are people offering help, I may just get them to start posting here. Thanks guys

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
  6. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,917
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    CJM is referring to me lol. I just started over from Step 1 to see if I can figure out where I am messing up or what I am missing :)
     
  7. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    just wondering, you used "adb reboot bootloader" to get the phone into the bootloader? then once your there adb is not working.
    would seem to narrow the possibilities if adb worked while the phone was booted thats why i asked
     
  8. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,917
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Yes, adb does work to boot into bootloader. And once there I get the error CJM posted earlier.
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,917
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    While in bootloader, in device manager it shows Android 1.0 with an error icon. When trying to install the drivers it fails.
     
  10. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,666
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    What happens if you run pdanet again. Or have you tried that already.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,917
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    I tried that and everything installs. It has not asked either time for me to select my manufacturer like it states in the OP though.
     
  12. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,666
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    That has to be it. Until those are installed, you're going to keep getting that error. Is there a usb icon in your task bar by the time? I couldn't get pdanet to work until I was prompted to install drivers when I plugged in my phone.

    Does anyone know how to force the pc to do that?

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
Search tags for this page
download omap4440 driver
,
driver omap4440
,
omap4440
,

omap4440 driver

,
omap4440 driver download
,
omap4440 driver galaxy nexus
,
omap4440 driver galaxy nexus download
,
omap4440 driver windows 7
,
omap4440 drivers
,
omap4440 galaxy nexus