How to turn off autocomplete?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by jdgalt, Jul 19, 2019.

  1. jdgalt

    jdgalt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy J7
    Every time that the "autocomplete" feature changes what I've written, it's wrong. How do I disable the feature completely and globally?
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,012
    Likes Received:
    11,721
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,277
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    What phone and which keyboard app are you using? Those settings are typically within the specific keyboard app you are using.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jdgalt

    jdgalt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy J7
    It's a Samsung J7, and no keyboard app. At least none added by me.
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,012
    Likes Received:
    11,721
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,277
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    It has to have a keyboard app or you wouldn't have a keyboard to type on. It's either the Samsung keyboard or Google's Gboard keyboard. You can see which in Settings and then manage custom words. Open Settings and search for keyboard

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
    [​IMG]
     
  5. jdgalt

    jdgalt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy J7
    It's Samsung Keyboard.
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,012
    Likes Received:
    11,721
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,277
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Somewhere in the Keyboard settings is an auto-correction (or similarly named) option.[​IMG]

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk