How To Try Other ROMs and Revert?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by xxnonamexx, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a UD9 ROM and it works flawlessly. The OTA has an option to install different ROMS. My question is if I install a different ROM can I revert back easily? Thanks
  2. powerwagon
    Offline

    powerwagon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Revert back to old rooted rom or pre-rooted rom? If you are talking about rooted rom, then yes...just make a backup using sprecovery.
  3. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Create a backup through ROM manager and clockwork recovery. Don't like the other rom restore backup. Plus there are multiple ROMs to chose from in rom manager.
  4. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SO I will go into ROM Manager create a backup. Do I need to wipe/clear cache? WIll my apps uninstall? I can just go back to ROM manager to reinstall my previous backup?
  5. vinylgruve
    Offline

    vinylgruve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the upside of down
    So if I've got a rooted 2.0.1 backup with clockwork and I did the 2.1 OTA update not knowing it wouldn't be rootable to install Cyanogen. Can I use Clockwork to revert back?
  6. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    The cleanest way to go from ROM to ROM is to wipe system, data, cache and boot. Then either install via update.zip or restore via a provided nandroid backup. This will obviously remove all of your apps and there is a good chance they won't all show up in the market.

    If you're going to use ROM manager you will want to wipe data and cache. However you don't have the option to manually wipe system which can sometimes cause issues.

    Take a backup prior, and use that backup to revert to your current setup.

    I generally wipe system, data, cache and boot before restoring. Since I've started with full wipes I've had a much better experience with each ROM.
  7. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You're currently running a non rooted 2.1?
  8. vinylgruve
    Offline

    vinylgruve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the upside of down
    yes i am running non-rooted 2.1. Forced the OTA update before knowing it wasn't rootable from runtime
  9. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't think an update.zip has been released to root 2.1. I could be wrong though. So, to my knowledge the only way to go from 2.1 non-rooted to 2.1 rooted is to flash the 2.0.1 .sbf then use Pete's rooted 2.1 update or install a recovery and restore a 2.1 ROM.
  10. vinylgruve
    Offline

    vinylgruve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the upside of down
    from what I know 2.1 hasn't been rooted yet and have to apply a patch of sorts before you update. but I did root 2.0.1 and had clockwork with a flash backup of that image. then forced 2.1 OTA. so I would still need to install 2.0.1 .sbf and go back to 2.0.1 and NOT use clockwork to restore that original recovery image?
  11. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You could restore the original image after flashing 2.0.1 with the .sbf.
    You'd need a functioning Clockwork recovery to restore the original image, which requires root, which you don't have.... unless I'm misunderstanding the situation.
  12. vinylgruve
    Offline

    vinylgruve New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the upside of down
    Thanks for the help. From here on out then I should assume to follow the How to Unroot/Unbrick your phone process then.

    edit: sorry to pseudo hijack the thread
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  13. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You should only need to use it once. Just to go back to 2.0.1. Once you're on 2.0.1, you can root, or upgrade to rooted 2.1 and you'll be able to use sprecovery or clockwork to utilize nandroid backup/restores.