How to tether my xoom wifi with my incredible 2?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by jojo23, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. jojo23

    jojo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks in advance for any suggestions and helps...

    So I own a xoom wifi and I am trying to tether it to my HTC incredible 2. Do I need to root both of my devices in order for this to work, or do I only need to do so with one of the devices? Please help me. Thank you so much. I have never rooted anything before so I am very nervous lol.....
     
  2. jojo23

    jojo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I own a xoom wifi and I am trying to tether it to my HTC incredible 2. Do I need to root both of my devices in order for this to work, or do I only need to do so with one of the devices? Please help me. Thank you so much
     
  3. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    You can do it two ways. 1 pay for the tethering app that is already on your phone for $20/month. 2 once root is available for 2.3.3 you can root and use a 3rd party tethering app and hope Verizon doesn't notice you and start charging you the $20/month. They are looking at the content you are downloading. Lets say you are streaming a couple of Netflix movies a month on your Xoom, and the Dinc2 doesn't support streaming Netflix. They will see that you are probably using a separate device and getting the data through the phone. They have said in the past that they will start charging for the tethering if they think you are doing it. Hopefully that makes sense to you.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  4. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Already answered in your crosspost in the Xoom forum.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  5. jojo23

    jojo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i was to root.... would it mean that I have to root both of my devices or just my phone or the xoom? Thanks..
     
  6. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    No, just the phone. When you turn on the wifi on the Xoom it doesn't know or care where or what the signal comes from.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  7. jojo23

    jojo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a lot... that really sorts out what I need to do next, which is what I am afraid of lol. I am not a techie at all so rooting is gonna be quite a challenge for me lol.
     
  8. wcjeep

    wcjeep Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +58
    Does your incredible 2 support Bluetooth dial up networking? My Droid x does. No root necessary.
     
  9. jojo23

    jojo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure, only that every time I tried to connect by bf, it would only pair but not connect.
     
  10. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey can you use the app from the app store that uses the pass through internet? Easy tether light?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

can i teether my incredible2

,

droid incredable 2 very ow wifi

,

how do i tether my xoom to galaxy s4

,

how to tether my xoom to my verizon incredible 2

,

how to tether wifi xoom to samsung s3