1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to tell if you have root in froyo 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by joleme, Jun 12, 2010.

1. joleme

joleme New Member

Hello All, as like most posters I am a bit new to all this. Here is my progression of issues and my question.

I performed the steps here to root my 2.1 droid.
    Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

No real problem there, but I didn't do the last 1 minute of it to check if it did give me root access, i simply went on to installing froyo 2.2.... kinda dumb.

I have froyo running on my droid now, wifi fixed, market fixed. When I install certain programs I do get a popup box asking for access, but when i open the SU program I just get a blank black screen.

Is that how it is supposed to be? I doubt it, and can i fix it in 2.2, or will i have to revert back to 2.1 and start over to get root on 2.2?

I have tried about 3-4 of the different "update.zip" files that are suppossed to give you root, but i dont know if that would "fix" the SU program.

Any pointers would be nice.

Thanks
  2. Bear in NM

Bear in NM Active Member

The su program/icon does not do anything until actually use a program that requires root access. Once you have such a program, the first time you run it a box will pop up asking whether or not you want to allow it root access, and whether to "remember". Once you do this for these other root access programs, when you click on the su app a box will cone up with a list of root programs, and their access. Nothing more.

Since you are freshly rooted, most folks agree that some type of terminal program or root explorer is pretty necessary. The terminal program runs like a windows command prompt. allowing you to hand type commands. The explorer program is just like windows "my computer". for the most part.