How To Stop Verizon From Throttling Your Phone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by idk5, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. idk5
    Offline

    idk5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Driggs, ID
    Ratings:
    +4
    In order to do this you will need SQlite Editor you can get it here: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.speedsoftware.sqleditor and phone needs to be rooted if you are on 902 you can get that here: View attachment 47927

    Only do this if you are comfortable about messing with system files

    sargentmajord and I have tried this on our Bionic and the Droid 4, the Droid 4 method it a little different, and should work on other phones but may use different Lines.

    1. open up SQlite and select Settings Storage (com.android.provides.settings)

    2. Tap on settings.db

    3. Tap on secure

    4. Change the value of Line 16 throttle_polling_sec to 0

    5. Change the value of Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps to at least 9999999999999


    the original values are just in case you need them

    Line 16 throttle_polling_sec | 600

    Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps | 300


    If you have any questions or need clarification feel free to ask me here or PM me i will help you the best I can.
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  2. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Sounds good, I'll have to try it after work, I'll report back then and tell you if it seems to work on the D1
  3. sargentmajord
    Offline

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    you need to edit the op the throttle reset day keeps coming back regardless of the the value being at zero it recreates itself at the bottom of the value table i set it to 0 3 times an it still came back an its currently sitting at value number 77 now besides if the reset day isnt disabled by putting the 0 value there it still works because of the [FONT=Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif]throttle_value_kbitsps was set to 999999999999. so if Verizon some how manages to set up a network that has speeds of over 999 gbsps then we dont have to worry about being throttled i have update the D4 post to reflect what i found out[/FONT]
  4. jayrod718
    Offline

    jayrod718 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does this do? Make my 4g faster?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. ex0rcist
    Offline

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hmmmm

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  6. sargentmajord
    Offline

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes here are some before an after screen shots

    Before the hack View attachment 47933

    After the hack View attachment 47934

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  7. oDECREEx
    Offline

    oDECREEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon doesn't throttle 4g phones... its on their site. They only throttle 3g
  8. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Not entirely true. They won't throttle 4G phones when they are using 4G. If they are using 3G and the tower is congested (and you are over the 2GB "limit"), you can expect to be throttled.
  9. sargentmajord
    Offline

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    That is true but the phone has a throttle on its self so verizon can throttle you 2 ways from there end or by the phone

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  10. oDECREEx
    Offline

    oDECREEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suppose that is true. I came across this issue a few days ago and it posted a link and I read it on their site.
  11. oDECREEx
    Offline

    oDECREEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh yeah I didn't know that one
  12. idk5
    Offline

    idk5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Driggs, ID
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am not sure about 4G but it sure sped up my 3G
  13. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    This is what I have without the hack

    View attachment 47948

    One thing, when I'm downloading an app from the Market, it's generally at 1Mb/sec. I see downloading like a funnel. If you have a big funnel with a wide neck you can fill the container faster. But if the water is just dripping in a huge funnel doesn't make a lot of difference.
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  14. homez3
    Offline

    homez3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I opened sqlite, and both line 16 & 18 were set at 0. I left line 16 alone, & changed line 18 to 9999999999999 , but I'm not sure why it didn't have the original values that it was supposed to.
  15. idk5
    Offline

    idk5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Driggs, ID
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you rooted stock or do you have a rom

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

how can i tell if verizon is throttling my data

,

how do i know if verizon is throttling me

,
how do you know if verizon is throttling your data
,

how to know if verizon is throttling you

,
how to tell if verizon is throttling me
,

how to tell if verizon is throttling my data

,

how to tell if verizon is throttling you

,
stop verizon data throttling
,
verizon data throttling hack
,
verizon throttle hack