How To Stop Verizon From Throttling Your Phone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by idk5, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. idk5

    idk5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Driggs, ID
    Ratings:
    +4
    In order to do this you will need SQlite Editor you can get it here: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.speedsoftware.sqleditor and phone needs to be rooted if you are on 902 you can get that here: View attachment 47927

    Only do this if you are comfortable about messing with system files

    sargentmajord and I have tried this on our Bionic and the Droid 4, the Droid 4 method it a little different, and should work on other phones but may use different Lines.

    1. open up SQlite and select Settings Storage (com.android.provides.settings)

    2. Tap on settings.db

    3. Tap on secure

    4. Change the value of Line 16 throttle_polling_sec to 0

    5. Change the value of Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps to at least 9999999999999


    the original values are just in case you need them

    Line 16 throttle_polling_sec | 600

    Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps | 300


    If you have any questions or need clarification feel free to ask me here or PM me i will help you the best I can.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  2. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Sounds good, I'll have to try it after work, I'll report back then and tell you if it seems to work on the D1
     
  3. sargentmajord

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    you need to edit the op the throttle reset day keeps coming back regardless of the the value being at zero it recreates itself at the bottom of the value table i set it to 0 3 times an it still came back an its currently sitting at value number 77 now besides if the reset day isnt disabled by putting the 0 value there it still works because of the [FONT=Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif]throttle_value_kbitsps was set to 999999999999. so if Verizon some how manages to set up a network that has speeds of over 999 gbsps then we dont have to worry about being throttled i have update the D4 post to reflect what i found out[/FONT]
     
  4. sargentmajord

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    In order to do this you will need SQlite Editor you can get it here: https://market.android.com/details?i...ware.sqleditor and phone needs to be rooted if you are on 902 you can get that here: motofail.zip

    Only do this if you are comfortable about messing with system files

    idk5 and I have tried this on our Bionic and the Droid 4, the Droid 4 method it a little different, and should work on other phones too but may use different Lines.

    1. open up SQlite and select Settings Storage (com.android.provides.settings)

    2. Tap on settings.db

    3. Tap on secure

    4. Change the value of Line 16 throttle_polling_sec to 0

    5. Change the value of Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps to at least 9999999999999

    the original values are just in case you need them

    Line 16 throttle_polling_sec | 600

    Line 18 throttle_value_kbitsps | 300

    if you have any questions or need clarification feel free to ask me here or PM me i will help you the best I can.
     
  5. mb68

    mb68 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure what u mean by throttling please explain

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  6. sargentmajord

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ok throttling means to significantly slow down data speeds after a certain amount of data usage has been met meaning ur phone has a data cap i am not sure what the cap is but for example lets say ur data cap is 10 gigs of usage (does not pertain to data plan) ur phone then sees u have hit ur cap an throttles ur download speeds from 5 mbs to 1 mbs untill ur throttle reset day comes which is the day ur bill is populated so its like a governor on a car after a certain speed the governor kicks in to slow the engine down

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  7. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Unless this applies to the new tiered data plans, I have never seen an instance of 'unthrottling' benefit any user. Verizon has said that they have a throttling procedure, but continue to say that it has yet to ever be used.
     
  8. jayrod718

    jayrod718 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does this do? Make my 4g faster?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hmmmm

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. sargentmajord

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes here are some before an after screen shots

    Before the hack View attachment 47933

    After the hack View attachment 47934

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  11. oDECREEx

    oDECREEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon doesn't throttle 4g phones... its on their site. They only throttle 3g
     
  12. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Not entirely true. They won't throttle 4G phones when they are using 4G. If they are using 3G and the tower is congested (and you are over the 2GB "limit"), you can expect to be throttled.
     
  13. sargentmajord

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    That is true but the phone has a throttle on its self so verizon can throttle you 2 ways from there end or by the phone

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  14. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Verizon's throttling has noting to do with software on the phones. If your device is in the top 5% of a congested tower, you will be throttled ON THEIR END!
     
  15. oDECREEx

    oDECREEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suppose that is true. I came across this issue a few days ago and it posted a link and I read it on their site.
     
Search tags for this page

how can i tell if verizon is throttling my data

,

how do i know if verizon is throttling me

,
how do you know if verizon is throttling your data
,
how to know if verizon is throttling you
,
how to tell if verizon is throttling me
,

how to tell if verizon is throttling my data

,

how to tell if verizon is throttling you

,
stop verizon data throttling
,
verizon data throttling hack
,
verizon throttle hack