How To Search for a business in Contacts

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Twist747, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I search for a business name in my contacts.

    I have several people that work for the same company and I can't remember their names but do know the business name.

    This may be a senior moment on my part, but I am having trouble.

    Thanks
     
  2. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just go into contacts, hit search and start typing the company name. They show right up.
     
  3. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I'm doing. I do get 1 or 2 listings, but not all (the one I'm looking for didn't show). In my two tests, there are 6 to 8 contacts with the same company name. They are spelled the exact same way.

    Is there a setting or a comand to have the database re-scaned?
     
  4. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let's see. I just tested mine again and worked just fine. Do you by chance have the check box marked "only display contacts with phones" checked. Maybe the users not coming up don't have phone numbers. Also do those users show up when you search for them by name?
     
  5. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good thought, but i don't have it checked. The contact that I'm searching for does show if I search for the last name (yes it does have a phone #). The Company name has two names. When I search for one of the two, only a person with that last name (doesn't work for the company) shows. When I search for the second of the company names, two contacts do correctly show, but not the other 4.

    Confusing.
     
  6. P_McNeal

    P_McNeal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is the same way; really inconsistent for anything other than the given name. Haven't found a good solution yet, although there is a super-search app out there. I just don't want to give another app access to all my info.
     
  7. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, misery loves company. But, isn't Google at least one of the worlds leading "SEARCH" companies? That's why I don't want to buy another app to do Google's job. Frustrating!
     
  8. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    your phone doesn't have google's search engine installed on it. the phone has limited search capabilities and everything else, it pulls from the internet.

    you could create contact groups for these types of contacts and then choose to only display those groups at the time that you are looking for these individuals.
     
  9. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird, mine works well. I have many contacts from John Deere. If I type in John, I get anyone with the first name of John, everyone from John Deere, and a couple people from a company called Johnson Inc. If I type in Deere I get nothing, which I would exspect. Are these contacts from your gmail contact list? All mine are from outlook through exchange. Not sure why that would matter.
     
  10. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. Twist747

    Twist747 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I am getting simiar results and it picks up the first name not the second name as well. But, I dont' get 20% of the contacts that have the same company listed.

    These are Outlook contacts that sync to gmail, then to the droid.
     
  12. CBLJazz

    CBLJazz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +0
    i set up my groups on a actual computer- GMAIL CONTACTS

    i have several groups which makes navigation faster
    WORK
    BUSINESS
    FAMILY
    FRIENDS
    STARRED- these are the equivalent of speed dials on a regular phone
     
Search tags for this page

android contacts business name

,

android search contacts by company

,

android+contacts+not+showing+company name

,

can i make my s4 contacts display company name

,

contact businesscontactrmatics.com

,

droid contact applications search by company name

,

droid s4 searching by company

,

search by company name android

,

searching for business contacts