[HACKS] [HOW TO] Root your Verizon Galaxy S4

Discussion in 'Galaxy S4 Development' started by wicked, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm trying to flash the VRUAMD2 pre-release kernel but Odin is giving me a hash fail.

    <OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
    <OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <OSM> Please wait..
    <OSM> MD5 hash value is invalid
    <OSM> SCH-I545_MD2_423399_Kernel.tar.md5 is invalid.
    <OSM> End...

    What am I doing wrong here?
     
  2. klabit87

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    What baseband do you currently have installed? mdk, me7, mi1, or mj7?

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  3. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3
    I didn't think baseband would even factor in yet, but unfortunately I'm running MJ7. It was inadvertently updated today but I was hoping this would work.
     
  4. klabit87

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The baseband is just easier to ask for. What you need to look at is the firmware version. My bad. I want quite thinking properly when I asked lol.
    If you did not manually update your modem to mj7 then you will need to Google vroot.
    It is a Chinese root program that requires Windows machine.
    Then look into how to replace Chinese superuser with supersu
    I will look for a link real quick.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  5. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks.
     
  6. klabit87

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3
    Remarkably easy! That didn't take nearly as long as it did on my last couple phones (HTC Incredible 2 and Droid Eris). Man, why didn't I go to Samsung before?!?

    In all seriousness, thank you for posting this for me. When the phone OTA updated to MJ7, I about lost my mind. I was afraid it'd take weeks for a root to show up for it. Thanks!
     
  8. klabit87

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    No problem. Just remember there is no compatible recovery right now.
    I would keep the no-wipe mj7 Odin file on your pc just in case.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  9. KaHOnas

    KaHOnas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3
    That shouldn't be a problem. I was just looking for root access in order to run Titanium Backup and a few other things so I can move all my info from my old phone (the HTC Inc2). This should work nicely.
     
  10. MotoXGirl

    MotoXGirl Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +69
    If anyone needs a root for the 4.3 update let me know.
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,717
    Likes Received:
    4,731
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,270
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I need root for the MAXX. Isn't the Moto X essentially the same, I mean same OS?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  12. myfishbear

    myfishbear Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Ratings:
    +31
    nah totally different chip. the maxx uses a ti omap. the x got the qualcom MSM8960DT. so exploits are different. from what i remember the later versions of razr blade, which have you mess with smart actions(not the original), work with the latest maxx update.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root galaxy s4 verizon mac
,
root galaxy s4 verizon
,

root s4 verizon

,
root sch i545 build ng6
,
root verizon galaxy s4
,

secure magiccode check fail

,

secure magicode check fail

,
secure magicode check fail recovery
,
verizon galaxy s4 root
,
verizon s4 root