How to root your Incredible 2 with 2.3.4 explained

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by Droid Firefighter, Oct 22, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    I posted a reply earlier that didn't go through.

    This post is Incredible 2!
  2. stevieeT33
    Offline

    stevieeT33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ha its fine i dont expect random people to wait on me like its their job, besides im glad i figured it out on my own
  3. ashleyywtf
    Offline

    ashleyywtf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    Can't read the screen shot, however a few common problems so far have been not having the drivers installed, not having the phone in charge only mode, not having the USB debugging turned on, and the computer not reading the script right. Also make sure you have all the spacing correct as well. Come back with any more questions and don't give up. Took me about four hours total to get it all figured out. Good luck!

    This post is Incredible 2!
  5. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    for me it was re-installing windows 7 then it finally went through, I think if I had done that in the first place then wouldn't have had to go through so much trouble but who knew?
  6. aardvark502
    Offline

    aardvark502 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey im about ready to try this but will it wipe my data? thanks.
  7. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes. Any pictures in text messages you have and want to keep you will need to save to your SD card. Long press on the picture and "save attached to SD card". If you feel more comfortable, you can copy your SD card to your computer. The SD will not be erased though. Also, once you have rooted, make a nandroid backup, it is super important you don't skip this step. That backup will be your safety fall back to spot should a rom install go bad. Good luck, I have a meeting tonight from 7-9 so I'll check back later if you have any other questions. Oh, btw, your contacts will reload so long as they are backed up via Gmail.

    This post is Incredible 2!
  8. aardvark502
    Offline

    aardvark502 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks alot I've rooted the Droid x2 and fascinate in the past so I'm not exactly new to it all just HTC. Now itlf worst came to worst what would happen in this proccess would it most likely back out or brick my phone with no return. Also Motorola has rsd and Samsung has odin and if you don't know what those are its pretty much the holy savior recoverer for those phones. Is there anything like that for this? Thanks so much.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
  9. GreenAcid
    Offline

    GreenAcid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chico CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did I do something wrong? I Reverted back to 2.3.3 flawlessly, but now Revolutionary does not come up as an EXE for me. I Downloaded it from the said website, but when I click Run, it says Libcurl-4.dll is missing from my computer....

    Help?
  10. GreenAcid
    Offline

    GreenAcid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chico CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind that. I Realised I have to extract, but now it says "Waiting for Device"...What do I do now?
  11. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    Are you still in charge only mode with USB debugging turned on? HTC uses RUU as their software name as opposed to the Motorola SBF. It is available here on the forums.

    This post is Incredible 2!
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  12. GreenAcid
    Offline

    GreenAcid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chico CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gah. I'm retarded. Forgot to enable Debugging. ><
  13. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    We've all done it lol. Let me know how it goes.

    This post is Incredible 2!
  14. GreenAcid
    Offline

    GreenAcid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chico CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    it went gorgeous. Thank you. Once I Figured out how retarded I was being, It worked. The only problem I'm running into now is that I'm trying to install a Mod, Liquid for example, and It said Finished installing Liquid Gingerbread, Enjoy, i reboot my phone, and all I get is Blue, and red squares that look fancy, and spin and do circles, but it takes forever, and nothing happens?

    Did I put the mod in the right place? All I did was mount it, so I could access files, and dropped it in the first directory.
  15. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    Its called a bootloop. Very common after not installing a rom properly. You need to get into recovery (pull battery, put it back, power on while holding down on the volume key) select recovery then do a wipe of data and cache three times. Next select install from SD card and find the rom you downloaded. Make sure it is in the root of the SD card (not in a folder) then install it. Once it's done, reboot into Android and you should be up and running.

    This post is Incredible 2!
Search tags for this page

how to root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
how to root droid incredible 2.3.4
,
how to root htc droid incredible 2 2.3.4
,
how to root htc incredible 2
,
how to root incredible 2 with 2.3.4 explained
,
htc incredible 2 root 2.3.4
,

root droid incredible 2

,

root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
root htc incredible 2 2.3.4
,

root incredible 2 2.3.4