How to root your Incredible 2 with 2.3.4 explained

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by Droid Firefighter, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. PereDroid

    PereDroid Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,518
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,151
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    CWM installed.
    GO into recovery. Flash the ROM. HTC load screen comes up and never goes away.
    Have a good backup which I have now restopred too.
    Downloaded ROM Manager. It does not see CWM and wants to install it again. Leery of doing that since it is, in fact, installed.
     
  2. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    OK, turn the phone off and get into the bootloader. Scroll down to recovery and hit the home button. Does it go into cwm?

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  3. PereDroid

    PereDroid Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,518
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,151
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Yes. I've done this 6 times.
    THat's where I flashed Mik's ROM. Twice.
    /does it one more time/
    HBOOT runs, Click RECOVERY.
    Revolutionary CWM v4.0.1.4

    Previously I have mounted SD card. RUN UPDATE FROM SD Card. Select the 4.0.2 ROM. It flashes. Get a SUCCESS message. Reboot. Never makes it past the HTC Splash screen.
     
  4. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    OK are you wiping the data and cache before installing the new rom? Sounds like you are missing that step. This will put the phone into a bootloop like you are experiencing. Reflash your recovery again. Get into recovery and wipe data and cache 3 times. After that flash the rom. Then reboot and let the phone sit until it gets to the lockscreen.

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  5. PereDroid

    PereDroid Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,518
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,151
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    ok.
    One more time. Can't reflash recovery because I did it with that all in one step that you posted.
    Recovery > wipe data / factory reset > yes
    Complete
    2 more times
    Done
    3 cache wipes coming up.
    1 > 2 > 3
    Complete. No errors.
    Install from SD Card > ChooseIncredible HD 4.0.2 > yes
    "Welcome to Incredible HD"
    (Love that splash screen)
    Watching closely...
    Complete.
    Reboot.
    And I will let it boot while I drive home.
     
  6. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Good luck! Ill check back later.

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  7. moonsand

    moonsand New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I did everything I was supposed to do and Im at the stage where the cmd says "sending zip (292817) and my phone has been on the start up "htc" screen for about 15 minutes now, I was just wondering how long this process is supposed to take? thanks!
     
  8. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Sorry I didn't see you earlier. It shouldn't take that long. Where are you at with the phone now? Did the process finish? Is your phone still working?

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  9. stevieeT33

    stevieeT33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Are you connected to the computer in charge only mode? Do you have USB debugging turned on?

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  11. stevieeT33

    stevieeT33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so i forgot to download the driver (i know retated)... but i did that and everything seemed to go well i got this

    View attachment 42174
    continuation...

    View attachment 42173

    yet my phone is still on 2.3.4 unders fotware infromation...
     
  12. stevieeT33

    stevieeT33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nvm i switched to a dif comp and had success but thanks fro a the lack of help jk lawlz
     
Search tags for this page
how to root a droid incredible 2 2.3.4
,

how to root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
how to root htc droid incredible 2 2.3.4
,
how to root htc incredible 2
,

root droid incredible 2

,

root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
root htc incredible 2
,

root htc incredible 2 2.3.4

,
root htc incredible 2 with 2.3.4
,
root vivow