How to root your Incredible 2 with 2.3.4 explained

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by Droid Firefighter, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    **Edit: If you have unlocked your phone using the HTC unlock tool you will need to relock the bootloader. This process WILL NOT WORK with an unlocked bootloader**
    **Edit #2 (5-20-12): Here is a link to another XDA post describing how to root if you have received a warranty replacement. I imagine this will also work with if you are just now trying to root for the first time. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1650519 **

    This is all based off of the post on XDA forum from attn1. All credit goes to attn1 and the persons listed in his original post.

    All comments I have seen on this method have stated that it is not for noobs and shouldn't be attempted. I will say this, once I figured out what I was doing wrong, the process was very simple and automatic. I will explain what I did right and wrong in an attempt to help anyone looking to root their Droid Incredible 2 with 2.3.4.

    Here is the link to the post over on XDA forums:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1298990

    Read through it and download everything it tells you to. I would suggest saving all downloads to your desktop for now so you know exactly where they are. Once you have done that you will need to move the vwhk-12102011-c.zip file to the root (not in another folder) of your C: drive. The easiest way to do this (for windows 7 users) is to click on the file folder in the bottom left corner of your screen, then click on the OS (C: ). Drag and drop the file from the desktop to the C: drive. Once it is there right click on the file and select extract all. You are now done with the C: drive and can close that window.

    Connect your phone to the computer via the data cable. Close the auto run window, and do not let the phone install the Verizon software. Makesure you have USB debugging turned on (menu>settings>applications>development>USBdebugging) and that the phone is in charge only mode.

    Next click on the start button and in the search field typein CMD. This will bring a pop up list with CMD (command prompt) at the top. Right click on CMD and then click on run as administrator. You will get a warning window pop up asking if you want to do this, click on yes.

    You will get a command prompt that looks like this:
    C:\Windows\system32>

    Type in cd c:\vwhk-12102011-c then hit enter. Don't forget the space between cd and c: (I did and it took me a while to figure out what was going wrong). You should see this:

    C:\vwhk-12102011-c>

    Now type in hack-vivow then hit enter and let the computer and phone do its thing. The safest thing to say at this point is to not touch the computer or the phone. Your phone will restart a couple of times during this process and I can't emphasize enough to not disconnect anything during this process.

    When the downgrade completes, proceed to the revolutionary website to root your phone. Before attemptingto root via the revolutionary method remove the battery and write down the serial number of your phone. You will need it for the rooting process. If you have any questions please post them here.

    Credits: copied from attn1’s post on XDA
    Attn1 – recognized developer over on the XDA Forums forputting this process out there for us
    Revolutionary - for everything they do
    Ch4lky - zergRush
    Scotty2 - misc_version
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Please ignore the spacing errors. For some reason I am not able to edit my post to make the corrections and it is really bugging me. :mad:
  3. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Guess I forgot to mention that this process will downgrade the software from 2.3.4 to 2.3.3. This is what allows you to use the revolutionary method of rooting your phone.
  4. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    this is what i'm getting and yes i'm am following everything exactly
  5. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Try this and let me know if you get the same thing. Open the command prompt again and run as administrator.

    change the directory to just the c: drive
    c:\Windows\system32>cd c:\

    You should have this:
    c:\>

    type in vwhk-12102011-c\hack-vivow
    then hit enter. Do you get the same thing?

    If you do, delete the vwhk-12102011-c file from your hard drive. Make sure to delete the zip folder as well. Download the file again and run through the process.
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  6. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC

    I got it. Now how long does the device take to restart? this is my cmd screen shot View attachment 41664
  7. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC

    never mind my noob side shows again. the device still says hboot 98. and i'm am still running 2.3.4


    also after it is done and i disconnect my phone is still in bootloader showing ruu?
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  8. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Looks like nothing in the cmd worked. Make sure you have usb debugging turned on. Then open a cmd prompt and run "adb devices" without quotes just to make sure and is working correctly.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
  9. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    this is what i get View attachment 41665
  10. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sorry you have to cd to the location of the adb.exe file.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
  11. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    i ran the adb again and also ran "adb devices" which you will see the results at end of the cmd View attachment 41666
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  12. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok. when in command prompt type cd C:\
    then find the exact name of the folder you extracted the tool to. for example i named my test as vivow_hack_2.3.4

    then type cd vivow_hack_2.3.4
    inside that folder is /tools/win/adb.exe along with a few other necessary tools.

    type cd tools\win

    then you can finally run adb devices
    View attachment 41667
  13. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    this here is what i get
    View attachment 41668
  14. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok looks like adb is running correctly I would go to the xda link and manually input each line of code. You can copy paste. You will have to type cd .. twice in order to get back to the main folder. Then run each line of code.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
  15. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    so far i've been able to follow but inputing them manually is one thing i've never done
  16. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It sounds like you need to do some research. I would recommend going to the xda link and read the relevant thread before going too far.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
  17. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    I am really sorry about this AW. When I did this it ran automatically and I didn't have to touch the phone or computer. I have tried several times to replicate what you are getting and each time it runs through without a problem.

    This post is Incredible 2!
  18. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It works for some with no kinks and some people run into problems. It would be best to understand what is happening instead of running a series of programs without knowing what is going on behind the curtains.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
  19. androidweirdo
    Offline

    androidweirdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC

    could it be something with my computer itself?
  20. klabit87
    Offline

    klabit87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Very possible. The ideal situation is to extract the zip to a new folder by itself. Then move it to the root of your c drive on your pc. Open your cmd prompt to the new folder then run the .cmd file. You may want to also redownload the file and check the md5 to verify it.

    Yep I'm on my DInc2.
Search tags for this page

how to root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
how to root droid incredible 2.3.4
,
how to root htc droid incredible 2 2.3.4
,
how to root htc incredible 2
,

how to root incredible 2 with 2.3.4 explained

,
htc droid incredible 2 root 2.3.4
,
htc incredible 2 root 2.3.4
,

root droid incredible 2

,

root droid incredible 2 2.3.4

,
root htc droid incredible 2 2.3.4
,

root htc incredible 2 2.3.4

,

root incredible 2 2.3.4