How to root ESE53 (for phone apps)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by adrynalyne, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Disclaimer: If you break it, its not my fault. This most likely will NOT work for the impending OTA update.

    Alright, I am getting a lot of questions on how to do this, so I am going to post what needs to be done so that folks can use ESE53 thats already rooted ;) This will allow folks to get the radio update as well as 2.1.

    First, follow the instructions to flash the ESE53 sbf.

    The instructions are here.
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24707-unroot-unbrick-your-phone-using-sbf.html

    The SBF can be found here.
    RapidShare: 1-CLICK Web hosting - Easy Filehosting

    If you have problems getting the start button to be usable (i.e. its greyed out), then follow the instructions here.
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...windows-7-flashing-sbf-files-look-inside.html

    Note: If the sbf fails at any step (usually at the end), you will likely end up with 2.1, but NOT the radio update. Best bet is to try again after it reboots the phone.

    This will get you to ESE53 SBF. However, to root the phone itself (adb root is already active), you must follow these next steps.

    First, adb must be setup on your machine and drivers must be installed. You can get the sdk from here.
    Android SDK | Android Developers

    Once adb is setup, you can either add it to your environmental variables (windows), or work from the command prompt from that directory you unzipped and installed it to. I reccomend adding it to your env variables (path).

    (This next part is taken from the old sholes.info rooting instructions. Its easier than retyping it).

    Add adb to your system PATH:
    (Note: In order for adb to work, the phone must be connected to the computer)
    (Note: adb ONLY WORKS OUTSIDE OF THE PHONE (i.e. not when you’re shelled in))
    Linux users:
    Open a Terminal, and run
    pico ~/.bashrc and copy this line anywhere (and the end of the file makes it more organized):
    export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/android/sdk/tools (Note: replace “/path/to/android/sdk/tools” with the path to where you downloaded the Android SDK, specifically to the tools folder)
    Ctrl+X to exit, Y to save, Enter to confirm. Then restart the terminal.
    OS X users:
    Open a Terminal, and run
    pico ~/.profile and copy this line anywhere (and the end of the file makes it more organized):
    export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/android/sdk/tools (Note: replace “/path/to/android/sdk/tools” with the path to where you downloaded the Android SDK, specifically to the tools folder)
    Ctrl+X to exit, Y to save, Enter to confirm. Then restart the terminal.
    Windows users:
    (XP and earlier): Right-click My Computer > Properties > Advanced tab > Environment Variables. Look for the one that says PATH, and double click on it. Add this to the end (after the last semi-colon):
    C:\path\to\android\sdk\tools; (You need to add it another semi-colon afterwards). Click OK, then OK again.
    (Vista and 7): Start > Control Panel > In the search box in the upper right of the window, type “system path”, then click on “Edit the system environmental variables.” Look for the one that says PATH, and double click on it. Add this to the end (after the last semi-colon):
    C:\path\to\android\sdk\tools; (You need the semi-colon afterwards). Click OK, then OK again.
    Enable USB Debugging:
    Settings > Applications > Development > Check “USB Debugging” then tap “OK”.


    Once you have done this, you can now push sprecovery to your phone. This will be needed to flash the update.zip that roots the phone itself.

    1. Get flash_image from here:
    *********** - online file sharing and storage - download flash_image
    2. Get sprecovery from here.
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
    3. Get the update.zip and su.zip from here. Unzip the su file so you can put it on your sd card.
    How to Root Your Droid (For Non-Linux/Non-Geeks) - Android Forums
    4. Put all four files on your sd card, either via mounting the sd card on the computer, and copying it over or using adb.
    5. Copy flash_image over and then flash sprecovery.

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img
    sync
    reboot recovery
    
    5. Make a nandroid backup. Do an advanced backup and select everything for good measure.
    6. Install the update.zip you downloaded. You do this by choosing installation, allowing update.zip(deprecated) and then choosing the install option.
    7. When its done, reboot your phone and finish the directions here.
    How to Root Your Droid (For Non-Linux/Non-Geeks) - Android Forums

    You are now rooted and (mostly) stock.

    Note: If you are merely going to flash for the radio update and then go to a custom ROM, you need not follow the rooting instructions, just get sprecovery flashed.
     
    #1 adrynalyne, Mar 17, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Some optional things you should actually do afterwards



    These aren't needed if you are going to a custom ROM.


    1. Install superuser app by downloading and unzipping the contents of this file to your sd card.
    http://www.***********/file/243234840/a0c444c1/superuser.html
    2. Use adb to install it.

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    dd if=/sdcard/Superuser.apk of=/system/app/Superuser.apk
    dd if=/sdcard/su of=/system/bin/su
    chmod 6755 /system/bin/su
    sync
    reboot
    
    3. Push a modified build.prop to your phone. This will address the issue of not seeing some paid apps. Note: It will take up to several hours for the market to notice the changes!
    Get it here.
    http://www.***********/file/243246303/49dd2b05/build.html
    4. Add it to your sd card, then to /system.

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    dd if=/sdcard/build.prop of=/system/build.prop
    sync
    reboot
    

    and...enjoy.
     
    #2 adrynalyne, Mar 17, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  3. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why is there a new/different su file?








    Perfect, thanks! \/
     
    #3 RoLa, Mar 17, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  4. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Its needed for the superuser app.

    I couldn't tell you the difference between the two, they aren't merely symlinks. They are different, however. You can actually skip the first su, but I opted not to say that because it leaves a larger margin of error, and in turn, angry people :D
     
  5. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Worked perfectly! Thanks.
     
  6. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats not stock though. He's done a bunch of stuff like overclocked it and adding a boot image.
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thats an option too. Of course not everyone wants to overclock.
     
  9. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ya, to be truthful I just don't want the boot image. If he made one without that, I would go for it in a minute.
     
  10. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thats a risk we all take, even with custom ROMs. We can't really tell what fixes are in the stock kernel, because the source code on AOSP is different and thats where the OC kernels are being compiled from. I compiled one a couple days ago, and its a different version even than Chevy's OC kernel.

    So yeah if you really want to go stock, you gotta leave the kernel be. We learned that lesson when an age old bug of static during music popped up with the custom ROM kernels for 2.0.1. Apparently Moto had made some changes in their kernel and not put it on AOSP.
     
  11. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Never heard about that. I'm guessing that we fixed it though?
     
  12. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Um, its fixed in the 2.1 kernels (stock and compiled) for sure.