how to root droid 2.2

Havok114

Reaction score
so im a newb when it comes to custom ROMS & ROOTING ,
but my phones been acting laggy and i want a better rom and the privilages rooting comes with
so my question is how do i root a droid running foryo 2.2

OP
H

Havok114

Reaction score
okay everything was going fine i thought it was rooting but it stopped in the process , to i clicked the camera button again and it said ABORTED what do i do ?

OP
H

Havok114

Reaction score
okay it said aborted because i had froyo 2.2 on the sd card as well (manually updated 2.2) i deleted it and everything went smooth ,
how do i add custom roms now ?

jrmdroid

Reaction score
okay it said aborted because i had froyo 2.2 on the sd card as well (manually updated 2.2) i deleted it and everything went smooth ,
how do i add custom roms now ?

Glad you were able to get rooted. Ya!! Welcome to the Darkside!

You can add a custom rom the same way you added MotoCashe1's "MotoCache1_Complete_Root_v1.1-update.zip" file. Go to the Custom ROM Section here and pick the one you want to add.

Example: Go to ChevyNo1 and click on SS 4.7 - FASTER - More Statusbar Options - Music Controls ++. From here you can download the ROM. Within this tread he has the instructions on what is in the release as well so read the OP. This could help answer some questions you might have.

To install:
1) save the ROM (either themed or unthemed there are 2 choices for SS 4.7) to the root of your SD Card as update.zip.
2) reboot your phone into SPRecovery (holding x while holding the power button)
3) Make a nandroid backup (arrow down to Backup/restore using the vol +, vol - button and camara to select)