How to root Droid 1?

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by BoltFan, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. BoltFan

    BoltFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone please give me a tutorial or explain to me how I should properly root my Droid 1 phone? I looked online and I found like 10 ways to do it, each of them different. One said to use the Android SDK, one said to use a simple App, and one wouldn't give me the info unless I signed up for their forum.
     
  2. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's the best set of instructions. There's no longer a app that can do it. It may sound like a lot of steps but it's really easy to do.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html
     
  3. BoltFan

    BoltFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!! How do I find the bit version for my phone? I have no idea if my phone is a 32- or 64-bit phone.
     
  4. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The bit version isn't for the phone but for the computer you're using to root the phone with. I would say that your computer is most likely a 32 bit.
     
  5. BoltFan

    BoltFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, that makes more sense! Thanks!! I can't wait to root my phone so I can get rid of all this bloat!
     
  6. BoltFan

    BoltFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are the Drivers needed? The driver links in that link you gave no longer work and don't go to the driver download page.
     
  7. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,834
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
  8. BoltFan

    BoltFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the link! And I knew how to find the bit version for my pc, I thought that I needed to find the bit version of my phone. That's why I asked.

    I went to that website, but I can't seem to find the Driver download. I'm still looking though.
     
  9. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,834
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I looked through the files I had for my D1 & found this driver, Motorola_Consumer_Driver_Installation_MotoConnect_1.1.16_32_bit_4.2.0. Here it is, if you want it: https://app.box.com/s/icfafqj9syjlp8stt8wh
    Also check this members signatures under the About Me tab here: teddyearp Click the 'Motorola Droid files', scroll down to the 'M's, he has a driver similar to the one I posted plus another driver. Maybe that'll help