How to restore a backup

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by aardvark502, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. aardvark502
    Offline

    aardvark502 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to try the new ice release from proteck but I've never restored a backup before which I will of course have to do. What do I need to wipe and what are the steps to restoring? Thanks!

    Tap'n on CM7 incredible 2
     
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Download the rom you wish to install and make sure it's on the root of the SD card (not in any folders). Reboot into recovery. Scroll down to wipe options and select wipe data and cache. Do it two or three times to ensure your old rom is wiped clean. Get back to the main recovery menu then select install from SD card. Scroll down and find the new rom you downloaded and install it. No need to flash your backup unless you want to.

    As a side note, look into installing raid zero recovery. It is much easier to use and also allows the phone to charge while in recovery. Clockwork does not. Post any questions here or you can PM me. Good luck!

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  3. aardvark502
    Offline

    aardvark502 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I understand that part I am on cm7 now. I will want to restore a backup after I am done playing with ics though. I don't know what I will need to wipe before restoring a backup or if there is anything I even need to wipe before doing so. Thanks for the reply.

    Tap'n on CM7 incredible 2
     
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Before you try to install a new rom, create a backup and name out something like preicsrom. Then download the new rom. Reboot into recovery and wipe data and cache. You have to do both and they are options in the wipe menu. To reflash your backup, while in recovery, select restore backup (I think that is the menu option) scroll through to find the backup you created and select it. It will install and the nice thing is you wont have to set the phone back up. Hope that helps.

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  5. aardvark502
    Offline

    aardvark502 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much I will definitely give you a like once I am on a computer thanks so much.

    Tap'n on CM7 incredible 2
     
  6. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    My pleasure.

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
android incredible 2 restore backup
,
backing up droid incrediable 2
,

incredible 2 restore