How to reset razr m when screen is damaged and unviewable

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by mrpontiac, May 27, 2014.

  1. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I reset my razr m when the screen is damaged and unviewable. I have a new one coming from asurion. But i will have to send mine back and i don't want to send it with info on it.

    Michael
     
  2. sajokaz

    sajokaz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    2,840
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3,191
    Current Phone Model:
    Custom Droid Turbo 2
    Did you ever setup Android Device Manager on-line and then on your phone also? If so, you can wipe your phone (FDR) from the Google Android Device Manager website.
     
  3. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    No just updated to Kit Kat also it is offline. Has to activate a old phone for now till i get my new one.
     
  4. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Saw this in the razr forum would it apply to the razr m as well.

    OK, I am going to assume you can get to the Boot Mode Selection Menu (BMSM = White text on Black background - but of course you can't see that...).

    Once on the BMSM;

    Press the Volume Down ONCE.
    Press the Volume UP ONCE.
    Wait at least 35 seconds (mine took 33 seconds for the Android ICON with the RED Triangle and Exclamation point to appear).
    Press BOTH Volume Up and Down, then release.
    You are now in Recovery.
    Press the Volume UP several times (just to make sure you are starting at the top of the list, in case you accidentally hit the Volume Down when pulling up the Recovery screen as I did once).
    Now...carefully press the Volume Down TWICE.
    Then press the Power Button ONCE.
    Next, press the Volume Down SEVEN (7) times (any number other than 7 will result in it going back to the previous menu, and then you'd have to hit Volume Down TWICE again and Power Button ONCE to get back here).
    Finally, press the Power Button ONCE and it will do the Factory Data Reset.
    Wait about 5 minutes to make sure the reset worked.
    Press Power Button ONCE to reboot.
    Done.

    If you have Clockworkmod Recovery installed, then I believe you can skip to step 7.

    If you can't see the screen and need to get to the BMSM from a fully powered on phone, you can;
    Press and hold all three buttons, Power, Volume Up and Volume Down for 8-10 seconds (8 seconds worked for me, don't really need Volume Up but I find it's easier to do when making the transition to the next step).
    Then briefly release all three, and then press and hold all three again for at least another 5 seconds.
    You are now in the BMSM.
    Jump to step one in the first section.
     
  5. sajokaz

    sajokaz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    2,840
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3,191
    Current Phone Model:
    Custom Droid Turbo 2
    How old was that thread? I think (could be wrong though) that those are the steps prior to KitKat. The process changed with KiyKat. Its worth a try though. The tough thing is...without any screen at all...you will not know for sure if the FDR truly worked with those steps.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
     
  6. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    That thread is fro 7/2012 and i tried it but it does not work.
     
  7. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if they could reset it at the verizon store.
     
  8. droideddie13

    droideddie13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +20
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 6
    That method won't work. It has nothing to do with KitKat. Its just that the Droid RAZR and the Droid RAZR M have different boot loaders. I know this cause I have seen them both. I have the RAZR M. I will tell you what to do in the after noon I am getting ready for class right now.
     
  9. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I much appreciated.
     
  10. sajokaz

    sajokaz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    2,840
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +3,191
    Current Phone Model:
    Custom Droid Turbo 2
    I'm just curious...but without a functional screen, how do you know it didn't work?
     
  11. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    It just rebooted while in the middle of that process.
     
  12. mrpontiac

    mrpontiac New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North East Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I am able to connect to my computer via a usb cable. I can see the internal storage I copied some of those files and then deleted everything. Then went through the above process and connected to computer again
    some of those files showed up again.
     
Search tags for this page

fdr razr m recovery

,
how can i factory reset my motorola android razr m on the computer
,
i have damaged my droid razor m default recovery red triangkle