How to remove sprecovery

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by yellar, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. yellar
    Offline

    yellar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Can anyone tell me how to remove sp recovery? I am sure its simple but I can't find anything on how to do it.
    Thanks in advance
  2. mrvogt
    Offline

    mrvogt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good question.

    I wanted to install the Froyo that is now out, but when I tried "allow update.zip" followed by "install update.zip" the install aborted with an error 7.

    How do you remove Sprecovery? Or how can I install the update.zip with Sprecovery on the Droid?
  3. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on the exact same boat as y'all!

    Has anyone tried doing a factory reset? and seeing what happens then install update.zip? i just dont want to download all my apps again!
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
  5. opentheroof
    Offline

    opentheroof New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotta love that everyone know how to do all this stuff with their phones but they cant help us remove this stupid program.

    Trying to do the same thing
  6. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
  7. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Perhaps I'm misunderstanding but if you are adding a file on your SD card named "allow update.zip or Install update.zip" it will not work. Name the file
    "update.zip" and copy to the root of your SD card and it will install.

    Mike
  9. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Dammit Bob...you are truly wise! :)

    I've posted this before. I always look to see how to undo that of which I am about to do, before doing that which I might get stuck doing and not be able to undo. Most guides have warnings. Nobody makes anyone root.
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England

    If that did not work do this:


    1. RSD Lite: install sbf file for stock 2.01
    2. Use the stock recovery and rename this file here http://rescue.macleod-web.net/update.zip_files/signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip to update.zip on the root of your card.
    3. Allow update.zip method and THEN apply update.zip method.
    This should put you on 2.1 awaiting the official 2.2 OTA or you can then grab the manual 2.2 file and apply that. That file can be found in the first post of this thread: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-general-discussions/66044-official-froyo-rollout-thread.html and it also would be applied just like the 2.1 (ESD56) file was.

    Goodnite and good luck.
  11. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes this is the issue im having, but i've done it about 5 times, all with different names to see how it worked. none worked!
  12. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Don't remove SPRecovery for the OTA. Pete just released the Official 2.2 OTA
    with no changes except he rooted it for you!
  13. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you're saying I'll get OTA update with what i have now? even though im not rooted at all, i just for some reason have sprecovery
  14. kyle94481
    Offline

    kyle94481 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^ beat me to it.
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm truly confused. If you are not rooted then SPR will not install a rom that was developed for rooted devices. Your signature indicates that you are running BB 4 which, I thought, was a 2.2 (FROYO) rom and could only be installed on a rooted device.

    What am I not understanding?
  16. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, My sig is old I am at 2.1update-1 STOCK! no root! Today i went to do update.zip the 2.2 and I noticed i have SPR and Im not even rooted or anything.
  17. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Thanks for the clarification!

    If you are not rooted then you have two options for getting to 2.2.

    1. wait for the OTA update.
    2. reroot and install a 2.2 (froyo) rom

    Mike
  18. Skyscraper38
    Offline

    Skyscraper38 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, sorry for all the confusion, I was just told by a guy on android forums that I wouldn't get the OTA update with sprecovery, and i kinda flipped out thinking im screwed.
  19. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    U don't have to be rooted to install this, or any rooted ROM. All u need is SPRecovery. U will have the official 2.2 otaupdate with root.


    Sent from my Droid a long time ago from a galaxy far, far away
  20. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    My sense is that he thought you had SPR because you were rooted and had blocked the OTA.

    If, for some reason, you do not receive the OTA post a new thread or PM me.

    Mike
Search tags for this page
como desinstalar sprecovery
,
how to remove spr recovery from droid
,

how to remove sprecovery for droid

,
remove spr recovery from droid
,

remove sprecovery from droid