[HOW TO] Remove bloatware

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by qoncept, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Smackbox.org
    Offline

    Smackbox.org New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Linuxville
    YA saw that, Just wanted to see if anyone else noticed the same. I have since then renamed everything and will see how much longer the battery will last. Thanks!
  2. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Problem, just didn't want you getting jerked around by the board police!lol!
  3. Smackbox.org
    Offline

    Smackbox.org New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Linuxville
    HA ha right? Thanks man!
  4. jaredb03
    Offline

    jaredb03 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thank you!
  5. blankooie
    Offline

    blankooie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone post a proper tutorial to putting backupassitance back on the phone? thanks.
  6. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this!

    hOPE tHIS hELPS!
  7. blackbird2150
    Offline

    blackbird2150 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i bought root explorer, and maybe i'm just an idiot, but i don't see a 'mount as r/w' option... i can get to the services but obviously it won't allow me to rename them b/c i'm mounted as read only.

    thoughts?

    EDIT: Guess I'm just a moron and didn't read the first line in the first post.
  8. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well unless you have rooted, you will not see it...
  9. dw900rr79
    Offline

    dw900rr79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you root it. I am having the same issue. I have the program but i don't see how to mount..
  10. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is ROOT???

    How to Root DX!!

    Root FAQ

    HOPE tHIS hELPS!!dancedroid
  11. blackbird2150
    Offline

    blackbird2150 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. avt123
    Offline

    avt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know which apk controls the power control widget? Sometimes when I turn WiFi on or off the color of the widget (green when on, blank when off) doesn't change. I tried putting back all the apk but have no luck.
  13. rohmbd
    Offline

    rohmbd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I renamed the apps, but they are still showing up. Amazon mp3 is gone but the rest are still there.....Any ideas?
  14. Godluvsugly
    Offline

    Godluvsugly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so i'm having the same issue, i rooted yesterday and today my battery only lasted half the day, i DID NOT do anything to backupassistantclient.apk but i did rename a bunch of others that were on the "safe list" anyone have any ideas?
  15. blackbird2150
    Offline

    blackbird2150 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. quadjacks
    Offline

    quadjacks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  17. macmull
    Offline

    macmull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello bro...

    hi ....
    The method we are using here is RENAMING the files. That way, if you decide you want an app back, you can rename the file back to it's original name.
    2) If you're not sure what an app is or what it does, don't touch it! Several people have changed a file they weren't sure about and it affected the phone in some way they didn't realize.
    3) Further, understand that removing some apps will break functionality in others. They interact in ways you can't predict. If you have a problem, rename the file back

    =========================
    For connecting to remote desktop of another computer (via internet or network) and controls. Also connecting to VNCServer through Repeater or directly to VNCServer and a lot of other configuration options. For more details VNCServer ==================================
  18. vvsabvv
    Offline

    vvsabvv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    that happen to me today, phone works but you cant see the main screen so phone is worthless now... when to verizon today that they are sending me a replacement one hopefully i have it by the weekend...

    if i want to rename cityid.apk it should be cityid.bak or something else?
  19. tam5070
    Offline

    tam5070 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    State College, PA
    I like most of you use the dolphin browser so is it possible to rename the browser.apk file? Slash if it is, is it just the browser.apk file showing up in root explorer? I tried to change it to bak and it told me it was read only which kind of confused me.
  20. blackbird2150
    Offline

    blackbird2150 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is the proper method for renaming yes. And the CityID one is one that I renamed. By renaming it, it remains in the phone so you can put them all back when you need to (to update to froyo for example).
Search tags for this page
bloatware droid x
,
droid x bloatware removal
,

droid x remove bloatware

,
file extension apkx
,
how to remove bloatware droid x
,

how to remove verizon bloatware

,
remove verizon bloatware droid x
,
removing bloatware on droid x
,

uninstall verizon bloatware

,
uninstalling verizon bloatware
,

verizon bloatware

,
verizon bloatware removal