How to play Dungeon Defenders on a Droid or Milestone

Discussion in 'Android Games' started by Varking, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    This comes to you via Progor on the official forums for Dungeon Defenders which can be found here: Dungeon Defenders Forum

    And the original thread he created can be found here: How to play on a Motorola Droid or Droid Milestone.


    Thanks goes out to him but I really just wanted to help spread the word to us original Droid users who wanted to play this awesome game but unfortunately couldn't upgrade or wanted to wait for one. Thanks to him again!
     
  2. cydetrakd

    cydetrakd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    has anyone got this working yet? i cant seem to get it to work running cm6.1.2
     
  3. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    I confirmed it works on my Motorola Droid. I have it running UltimateDroid, overclocked to 1.25ghz, and all my settings are higher for my swapper2 than he used.
     
  4. cydetrakd

    cydetrakd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what are the settings do you have for swapper2 to get it running smoothly if you dont mind me asking i have it oc'ed to the same spec but it only loaded once. i just wasnt patient enough for it load all the way. I tried with comp cache on and off oc'ed at 1.25ghz and my swap settings are 256 and 60 swappiness. id like to know you swapper2 config to see if that helps cause ud doesnt like my girl's og droid because right now it runs but not too smoothly.
     
  5. taktix101

    taktix101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Confirmed working on my Moto Droid 1 (A855). Configuration as follows:

    ROM: Cyanogenmod 6.1.2
    Kernel: CVPCS 7-slot 1000Mhz low-voltage
    RAM: AutoKiller Memory Manager (preset 6/12/16/82/90/98), Compcache set to 26%
    Swap: 256Mb Linux-Swap partition* (created manually using Gparted), swappiness at 60

    *I don't know if there are any in-game performance benefits to using an actual partition, but it sure beats waiting around for Swapper 2 to allocate a 128Mb+ swap file.

    I'll be interested to see if anyone has any heat issues running their CPU higher than 1Ghz. I have my SetCPU set to reduce clock speed at specific heat increments, and when I exited my CPU was running 45 degrees celcius @ 800 Mhz

    You know what's hilarious? I tried this approach the day the game came out (bought the app without checking its compatibility first....) and was furious that I couldn't get it to work....now I realize it's because my 'swappiness' was too low: THANK YOU VARKING/PROGOR!!!!! :D
     
  6. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    First, I have compcache turned off in UltimateDroid Settings.

    I do not have Swapper running at startup since I do not want to abuse my SD Card. I turn it on to play Dungeon Defenders, and off right after.

    Swap size is set to 128 mb but I am going to set it to 192 and see how it goes.

    He said set swappiness to at least 20, I have mine at 60.

    I have SetCPU and UltimateDroid Settings set to have me run the game at 400mhz at the slowest, and 1.25ghz at its fastest, while using the OnDemand setting but I will test to see how putting it on Performance effects it.
     
  7. overtwo

    overtwo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Working~!

    Droid1 - ProjectElite v4 - Slayher 1.1ghz - Compcache (enabled)

    Thank you very much for this find! I bought the game the day it was released on the market but haven't been able to launch it since. And while it took a half hour to download the game directory, I was out of time for a return (which I didn't mind much since I figured there would be a fix soon!). :)
     
  8. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I was out of the refund period as well but kept it anyways because I will download it again once it is out for PS3. Glad it is working for more people. Sometimes even after a swap it won't load so I just reboot the phone real quick and then end up playing for about two to three hours.
     
  9. Droid_3.0

    Droid_3.0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Love you But no homo :p
     
  10. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I couldn't get this working on Gingerbread but I guess thats what I should expect since I cant even play angry birds
    edit: What is the difference between swapper and compcache?
     
  11. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    The way it handles the command to offload all that stuff is different. It is explained on the dungeon defenders forum in the thread I linked.
     
  12. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    which kernels work with swapper? I couldn't get the one thats default with UD to work
    I get
    Code:
     turning swap off(file) FAIL
     swapoff: cant stat /sdcard/swapfile.swap': No such file or directory
    Removing swap file FAIL
    rm: cant remove '/sdcard/swapfile.swp': No such file or directory 
     
  13. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    It still works after the fail. Follow the steps, wait to minutes after it's over, and then try Tue game. I get the fails too.
     
  14. taktix101

    taktix101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Compcache and swap are 2 totally different things. Compcache is a portion of the system's normal RAM that is compressed in order to increase the overall amount of information that can be cached. This boosts the total amount of RAM available, but the compressed portion will read/write slower.

    Swap (controlled by Swapper) is not true RAM: its a portion of your sd card that your system uses as supplementary memory. It is MUCH slower than RAM, and should avoid being used under normal operating circumstances as overtime it will degrade the life of your SD card. In between playing, reset your "swappiness" to 0 in order to disable swap without having to recreate the swap file.
     
  15. taktix101

    taktix101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW, the way you can test to see if swap is truly enabled even after all the "Fail" messages, is press menu > info in swapper, and see if there is a number assosciated with swap.

    You can also check this by opening the android terminal emulator and entering "free" and checking to see if your system currently has any swap space enabled.
     
Search tags for this page

dungeon defenders motorola droid razr m

,

swapfile on milestone

,

why isnt dungeon defenders on droid