[How-To] Overclock the Droid to 600MHz

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by crdnilfan, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CREDIT FOR THE BOOT.IMG (KERNEL) GOES TO tasmanian_droid FROM ALLDROID.ORG
    CREDIT FOR SETCPU GOES TO coolbho3000 FROM xda-developers.com.

    I'm just here to make a nice tutorial and help people with questions to the best of my ability.

    This will enable your CPU to run at 600MHz, which is the stock speed for the CPU according to the manufacturer. Motorola clocked it down to 550MHz, most likely for battery life. I take no responsibility for anything that happens to your phone while doing this. Before you do this, you should have SPrecovery .99.2b, as well as a rooted phone. Since this is a recent "hack" there hasn't been long term testing, from what people have gathered battery life doesn't decrease significantly, especially if you lower the min freq to 125MHz, enabling a slower clock through a Sleep profile will also save battery life. Heat is another possible issue, but from what I've gathered, even under heavy load, the CPU doesn't get too hot.

    This does break Wi-Fi, there currently isn't support for Wi-Fi and overclocking at the moment, sorry. Sholes is working on a kernel that works with both apparently though.

    These are the steps:


    1. Download the new kernel in boot.img from:
    boot.img
    2. You also need SetCPU, it can be obtained here
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=505419
    if you register with them, there is also a donate version for only $.99 in the market if you wish to support the developer! (personally I bought the donate version, $.99 for overclocking is a great deal, even if you can get it free, support the work the man did!)

    3. Make sure you have flash_image on your system, preferably in /system/xbin/
    Download flash_image here
    http://www.mediafire.com/?wm5kmnnjdnf

    4. copy boot.img to the root of your SDCard
    reboot into recovery mode (here is where you make a nandroid backup just in case!!), mount /system, and mount the sdcard, and from adb run
    Code:
    adb shell /system/xbin/flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img
    
    5. Drag that sucker to 600MHz!!
     
    #1 crdnilfan, Jan 9, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  2. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    /system/xbin/flash_image: permission denied

    How can I fix this?
     
  3. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you run it from recovery mode? and mount /system before you executed the command?
     
  4. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup. Im in recovery now and system is mounted.
     
  5. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    first confirm flash_image is there with
    ls /system/xbin

    then make sure you have permissions with
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/flash_image
     
  6. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unable to chmod flash_image: Read-only file system
     
  7. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need to mount sdcard also, i forgot about that. although that shouldn't give the error you were getting, i have no idea why you are getting that.

    run
    Code:
    adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    
    although it should be rw already...
     
  8. p0rk burn

    p0rk burn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you make it read/write?

    edit: a step too slow
     
  9. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant run that mount command in recovery mode.. mount not found.
     
  10. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You better confirm that within recovery mode that the system partition is actually mtd4. You can do this by booting into recovery and then within the abd shell issuing the mount command. Something tells me that it is different.
     
  11. crdnilfan

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have no idea why it says read-only...in recovery mode NOTHING should be read only...

    are you using sholes .99.2b recovery image?

    what i suggest you do...go into normal mode, and from normal mode, execute from adb
    Code:
    adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    adb shell chmod 777 /system/xbin/flash_image
    
    then reboot into recovery, you can use
    Code:
    adb shell reboot recovery
    
    cause its a lot easier than holding x etc...

    and try it all again.
     
  12. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying this now... give me a sec.