how to make screen stay on

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by cboothe0325, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. cboothe0325

    cboothe0325 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a new droid maxx great phone, I know to save battery after two minutes the screen goes off,
    If I have phone plugged in can I make screen stay on
    Is there a setting im missing

    Last phone was razr maxx when it was plugged in it always stayed on
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Welcome to the Forum.

    I don't have a DM but most phones have a screen timeout setting. It should be located in the setting menus.
     
  3. kyboy

    kyboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I use am app sometimes called wake lock to keep my screen on. [​IMG]

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    If you go to Settings > Developer Options > There is an option for Stay Awake (screen stays on while charging). That should do it.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  5. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    920
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    To enable these, go to Settings - About Phone. Then go to the bottom and you should see Build Number. This needs to be pressed a total of seven times. You should get a message at the fourth press. On the seventh, you'll get another message saying that Developer Options are unlocked.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Forgot about that...thanks!

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    OP states that when the phone is plugged in, the screen stays on. Not sure the answers so far are what he/she's looking for.

    Try going into your settings and finding your display settings. I don't have a moto device either, but on my Samsung Galaxy s4, the Display options menu has an option for "Screen timeout." Options range from 15 seconds to 10 minutes on my phone.

    I don't remember what it was defaulted to, but I always set it to Never if available, or the highest I can, because I'm religious about turning the screen off when I'm done doing what I want to do. (I also have a habit of turning off other people's screens when they leave them sitting around and on.)
     
  8. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    920
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    Well, if you ignore op grammar then they are asking a question how to make screen stay on. This is why grammar is important.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I thought the OP said "if phone is plugged in can I make screen stay on".

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Now that I read it again for the fourth time, I think maybe you guys are right...

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Its all good. That's how I understood the original.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I thought for sure that I figured it out. Now I just feel silly. Haha
     
Search tags for this page

droid maxx screen goes off quickly while on home screen

,

how to make screen stay on 2010