How to make backup before z4 root

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by joshtb86, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. joshtb86

    joshtb86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the newb question but I wanted to z4 root the phone (droid 2) and I read you should make a backup image before doing so. I've read a couple of the stickies but am completely confused as to how to go about it. Anyone able to help me out?

    Also, if im just planning on using autokiller and maybe titanium backup to freeze some bloatware, do I need to backup? Is it necessary?

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    not really useful before root. it either works or it doesnt and wont change anything really.

    u can use bootstrap to make a backup after root then delete/freezw what you want
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    This is because z4Root roots differently then some of the other devices we have used in the past. I never made a back up using z4Root and I've used it 3 times. I recently had an opportunity to try out a system update. I added the bootstrap and before I updated I made a back up because bootstrap uses clockwork. Now remember, I was already rooted. After I tried the update I decided to restore my backup and that caused me some issues.

    To make a long story short, IMHO you don't need a back up using z4Root. If you want to add a Custom ROM after you rooted then by all means do a back up.
     
  4. joshtb86

    joshtb86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if im just gonna use it to use something like autokiller or titanium backup, i dont need to save a backup before hand? im not planning on switching roms or flashing or anything like that
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    not really need a backup for that but be careful what u freeze..
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    That's how I do it, but don't waste your time with autokiller. It's a placebo, imho.
     
  7. joshtb86

    joshtb86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Autokiller doesn't work? Why not?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
back up memery before using z4root
,
creating backup before rooting
,
do i have to backup before using z4root
,
do i have to do a backup to use z4root
,
do need to backup before using z4root
,
is backup required for z4root
,
review z4root
,
should i backup my phone before z4root
,
will z4 need a backup
,

z4root review