1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to maintain 3G priority over 1x with Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Theri0n, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. Theri0n
    Offline

    Theri0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know how to tweak Droid 3 to make it able to call, message and 3G, but not 1x data?
  2. kabifff
    Offline

    kabifff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I would love to know this as well. From what I've read, the D3 has some trouble with maintaining 3G service in some areas that aren't an issue for other VZW phones.
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I would assume OP that you are not in the US? Are you using CDMA or GSM?
  4. Theri0n
    Offline

    Theri0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am outside US.

    HTC Droid Incredible works fine with CDMA EvDo Rev.A here in Kazakhstan. This means EV-DO coverage is sufficient and there is no need to reload PRL. But Motorola Droid 3 having been fully unlocked and set up for the local CDMA operator oftenly switches from EvDo (3G) to 1x. I suppose it comes from the weaker radio, but suspect there should be some tricks to force it to stay on EvDo at data connection.

    My phone is rooted and i have access to edit system files.
  5. wahugg
    Offline

    wahugg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ashville Ohio
    I have the same problem here in the US; specifically Columbus Ohio which is 3G rich. I've noticed disabling the radios and re-enabling them (airplane mode on/off) fixes this problem temporarily. But this is very irritating and un-acceptable to me.

    -Wahugg
  6. estobaughn
    Offline

    estobaughn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could be wrong but I believe if you go into the program menu and turn off roaming it will not connect to evdo only to 3g but if you have weak or no signal you will not have any data
  7. nodixe
    Offline

    nodixe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm confused? I thought evdo was 3g (on vzw at least)?... and I was gonna suggest disabling background data or using an app like '3g only' or 'restart connection' or to try the radio settings in elixer to disable cdma..,..or am I mistaken?

    SCH i400->MB810->XT862 sent using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
android 1x instead 3g
,
droid 3 1x
,
how tp force 3g over 1x
,

what does 1x mean

,
what does 1x mean instead of 3g
,

what does 1x mean on android phone

,
what does 1x mean on my droid
,

what does 1x mean on my phone

,
what does 1x mean on my samsung phone
,
what does 1x mean on phone
,
what does it mean when my phone goes from 3g to 1ã—
,

what is 1x data

,

why do i have 1x instead of 3g

,
why does my phone go from 3g to 1x
,
why does my verizon phone go from 3g to 1x